Vlog 328: Steem Monsters account security concerns answered + 1500 SDB Steem Monsters price writing contest!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

By now many people must have invested STEEM/SBD in Steem Monsters so account security concerns are becoming real.

These cards have real value in the end.

I asked some questions about it in discord and @yabapmatt (co-creator) was very nice to take some time to talk to me for a while explaining things.

I asked if I could share his knowledge and that was ok.

Steem Monsters is not 100% decentralised. It can't be on the Steem blockchain currently.

They can basically do whatever they want yet everything they do will be public.

We know this because people have already made Cards explorers where everything is visible (like http://steemmonstersdb.com).

So if they would create a 100 legendary cards to give away to friends then this would be known straight away.

But on the plus side if someones account would got hacked and the cards were transferred they could burn those cards and replace them with new ones if there was clear evidence of a hack.

That's the reason account security hasn't been a max concern so far but they are thinking about better solutions for the future.

For me, what I know now this is currently enough and I feel safer.

In the future I'm hoping for an extra security layer just for peace of mind.

I talk about it more in my vlog.

ps. I my vlog I say the change of getting a gold foil epic cards is high....I mean low obviously.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Haha! 'Steem Monster's sure know how how to spice up the pot!' No kidding 1500SBD is huge! Wish it was my thing to enter into this type of contest! Glad you're feeling your investment (and the investment/ assets of others) is relatively safe. Lots is invested in this game! Enjoy your day 😊

It's a huge price indeed! Makes me feel like they are very serious about this project. Have a great day yourself!

For me, what I know now this is currently enough

Glad you're looking out for these things @exyle. If it's good enough for you than makes me feel safer too.

I read a post yesterday that finally made me feel a bit more excited about the tournaments. I suppose I was assuming that I wouldn't understand enough of the game play to be able to do anything much.

But from what I read it sounds like there will be opportunities for everyone. No just those who are good at this sort of thing. 😁

Do you have a link for the Disord channel? I'd like to play it a visit but can't find it anywhere.

Thanks! 😊

Mark @exyle It is good you are concerned since safety is extremely Important......

I think when a lot of people login with Steemconnect, they tend to forget about a lot of the security stuff that goes on in the background. There is that level confidence they have that leaves them open to other issues. It is interesting to hear what is happening in the background though and know that SteemMonsters is somewhat secure.

True, it's very important to always be sharp whenever you fill in a key anywhere!

I just saw the announcement, what a crazy amount, definitely very motivating for everybody who feels capable of writing anything decent. After Thursday, my exams are over, and I´ll be trying to contribute, if some team accepts me!

Destroying stolen cards is some type of control and safety measure, I guess. Thanks for the info, didn't know that!

With the time the cards will gain more value. I can already feel that they became like a currency already. Security is very important.

Just awesome update .
Thanks for your update news .

Your video is amazing , i like this video .

Thanks for sharing @exyle
Upvote you .

I didnt know about the Cards explorers.It is really usefull to keep track of everything.

But on the plus side if someones account would got hacked and the cards were transferred they could burn those cards and replace them with new ones if there was clear evidence of a hack.

Well this will be very helpful. In Steemit nobody could get his stolen money back as a phishing victim. At least with SteemMonsters it is different.

It's different indeed. But Steem is truly decentralised so it's hard to compare.

Wow your video is awsome good and great information this video. I like is this video
Thank you for sharing this post
@exyle

your the god master of steem monsters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73