Playing with an Orchestra for the first time in 10 years

in #dlive6 years ago

With my studio shutting down, I have moved my base of operations to three different locations. I will make videos in a proper studio, I will practice in my house (QUIETLY) and I will teach at an Orchestra.

20180503_205953.jpg

I was asked to help out with their drum band and teach some of the younger kids a few things to help them along in their learning process. I had my first lesson with the kids yesterday and it was so much fun!

20180503_210051.jpg

After teaching the kids and meeting everyone, I was asked to help out the Orchestra on a more permanent basis. I decided to accept the offer, as well as take my turn at playing Timpani in the orchestra that was rehearsing next. I had seen the orchestra play a few songs and it didn't seem too hard. I was wrong

20180503_205951.jpg

I got my ass kicked by two pieces on the Timpani, the first was a Lord of the Ring piece. A beautiful flowing, tempo changing piece of music, while the second was a Clint Eastwood inspired Western sounding tune. Reading music, playing with an orchestra and keeping time was all a little bit too much for me. Straight out I was barely able to follow everyone. When it's not your own tempo, it can be very challenging. The Lord of the Rings piece never really got any better.

20180503_211808.jpg

After a quick break we started the Clint Eastwood piece. This one was much simpler and much more doable for me. I was able to read, follow along and somewhat keep up. It was really a good challenge as I haven't done much like this in a long time. This is a fantastic lesson in reading and being humble, all my students face challenges and so should I!

20180503_205955.jpg

I will continue to play, learn and grow with this Orchestra. Maybe one day I will perform with them as well, you never know. I will keep you guys posted!

Thanks for reading!

-Joel

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thanks guys! Much appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65