Destroying an idea to build something stronger!

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

What I'm thinking about as I'm developing my first short film.

Draft after Draft after draft of only a few pages! You would think writing a short film would be easy but it has to be so specific and clear. Every word and shot matters to tell a story in only a couple of minutes.

I made this video before a director meeting but am posting it after so I can also share that it went EXCELLENT! She loves the new draft but of course... still had notes. I need to look of some police jargon (one character is a cop!) and tweak a couple of lines before we meet again tomorrow. The process is never ending but man oh man do I ever love it! It was fun to connect with my director and see her vision for the piece and how her director mind is interpreting what I'm writing.

Working solo I have to continue to not be precious or hold onto any idea too tight and then that principal has to be practiced again when I'm being collaborative with the rest of the creative team. Each draft, each phone call, meeting and conversation is letting go of expectation and asking myself how do I tell this story to the best of my ability.

Enjoy this video and please feel free to share your creative process or ask questions. Let's grow together!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

HAHAHAHH!!!OMG this is the greatest thing ever!!!

Hey hey! Soooo, how do you spell your name? C? K? Other?

Would you mind sharing what came before your current writer-y status? You blurghed all over the page, and then found a director? Or the director came first and then you started writing? Does the writing stop at any point, or does it keep evolving through early production, filming, etc?

So exciting! I'm sure throughout the hardship and cost, you'll have a thing that you made. I work in IT, and while I've done heaps of databasey things, I don't really have one piece of awesome work to show for my time... so however this short-film turns out, it's still going to be super exciting and amazing.

That is very true! And what I love about film vs. theatre. In theatre it's over and there's no record in film you get to keep it forever :)

The process- so normally you write first. You don't always have to have a full script but you do need an idea that you can articulate. You write the outline or a draft of the script and that's what you use to pitch to directors or producers to gain interest. This project is unique because one of my best friends is directing- but it actually made me work harder because if I'm going to ask a friend to help me I want to make sure they love it and trust me so I don't abuse their time and skill set.

The writing can eventually get locked BUT if there is a writer on set things can change all while you're filming. Or you may record different different lines and decide in the editing room which to use. I've only been creating independent film stuff so there is a more collaborative approach.

Every process is so different- sometimes a writer may get approached by a director to make something or an actor may have an idea and seek out a writer. But you don't go to camera (aka start filming) without a great script :)

oh and I spell it Katelyn :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

why thank youuu :) xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97