Deaf and Being Loud

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Transcript

I'm dating a guy that's deaf and he's extremely loud like slamming cabinets, loudly clanking silverware against stoneware, slamming toilet seats, that sort of thing. Do all deaf do that or are some of you more quiet than others?

Great question, and yes I'm aware of the profoundly deaf, especially those born profoundly deaf being quite loud in their daily lives. This is largely due to them being unaware of how loud they actually are. If you've never heard sound before, you don't know the difference between what it's like just allowing a cabinet to close shut on it's own with a simple push, even if that push seems gentle, versus actually moving the cabinet closed gently with your hand all the way through.

The cabinet is just one example out of many, but the idea still applies to the toilet seat and the cereal bowl.

I was born hard of hearing and got diagnosed as being mildly deaf by age 10, my hearing as gotten worse since then and even so within the last 10 years. However, I'm very self concious about how loud I am even if I don't actually hear it. Like I'll try to sit perfectly still in my computer chair so it doesn't creak or anything to disturb my partner, I gently close cabinets following through to the end with my hand and not let me hand release it until it's gently made contact with the wood and I'll even gently move the toilet seat up or down in the same manner.

I even go as far as to avoid walking heavily so that I'm not stomping or making lots of noise when I'm walking.

So in that regard, no, not all deaf people are super noisy, some of us are quiet self concious about how loud we're being. I actually have no idea who loud or quiet I actually am, but I've accidentally snuck up on people in my household and scared the hell out of them without intending to do so.

Like I'll have my roommate in the kitchen and he's fussing about with something, and I'll walk in, grab myself a bown and a can of chili for a quick and easy meal and start using the electric can opening. Suddenly I feel a vibration and look over to him and he's telling me "Dude you scared the shit out of me." So apparently I'm quiet.

End of scripted text.

My live stream is at DLive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85