Petra Jordan - Heart Wide Open

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

I give you a living room recording of one of my newer songs - Heart Wide Open (written in November 2017). You might have heard the expression "don't believe everything you think." Well, this song represents the very essence of it. I wrote it after inquiring into my beliefs, using "the work" of Byron Katie, and finding that what once caused me pain were just my thoughts about a situation, not the situation itself. And so what started off as a painful story about a break-up, abandonment and a disconnect, resulted in an experience that opened my heart so widely that I literally felt 'high on love' for about 3 days... I was so charged and inspired, that I sat down at the piano and wrote this song. I was actually so moved by the whole process of transforming a painful situation into something beautiful that I named the process "Transformative Songwriting" (and I am planning on bringing it to the public in the form of workshops soon!). Anywho, here goes

Heart Wide Open

Where I once would walk away
I chose to stay
Where once I would disconnect
I befriended the pain

You came to wake me up
Tell me I’m off course
There on the other side
Of every aching thought

I put my mind to test
And question its ways
Until I find some cracks
In its delusional maze

You came to wake me up
Tell me I’m off course
There on the other side
Of every aching thought

I found heart wide open
And a mind at home
Where love has spoken
This truth I call my own

The words they come to pass
And perspectives change
No lie can last
In its limited range

It hurts to wake me up
Tell me I’m off course
There on the other side
Of every aching thought

I found heart wide open
And a mind at home
Where love has spoken
This truth I call my own

I’ve been looking for this love for ages
And never left with more than just hope
Slowly making my way through the stages, honey
I’ve never loved like this before

With my heart wide open
And a mind at home
Where love has spoken
This truth I call
This truth I call
This truth I call my own

(C) 2018 Petra Jordan

Recorded on a newly restored Rippen Grand Piano

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

great track petra, lovely piano melodies :)

Thank you, @theturtleproject! Appreciate your listening :)

@petrajordan All the posts of you are very good, you have become fanful, keep waiting for this interesting post from you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94