You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I Become A Witness?.. I Want to Hear Your Thoughts!

in #dlive6 years ago

Sure Brandon, I would give you a vote. Be nice too if you could give us an idea of what a witness actually does besides securing the block chain. I have heard around hard-fork time, there can be major shifts in witnesses. The powers-that-be here generally don't vote for witnesses, unless they want to make certain changes. I think you have to have a lot votes backing you before you become a significant part of the decision making process, but there can be money to be made to running witness server. If it is something you truly want, go for it ... I might wait until after the trip though. So you are around if any significant problems arise.

Sort:  

Thanks @prydefoltz, I'd appreciate that. And here's a video I did about Witnesses but I keep it pretty simple:

One thing is that people like to vote on people they know, like, trust, and someone they feels has the best intentions for the overall community and blockchain. With that said, you're absolutely right. I believe it's only the top 20 witnesses that make the tough calls. So it does require a lot of votes to get into that position... which I think is perfectly fair.

And yes, there can be some money to be made if you can get into the top 40 witnesses or so. In the beginning it will cost me roughly $150-200 a month out of pocket, depending on what server setup I go with and if I need to hire a programmer for assistance (in the beginning). So it's definitely not a get-rich-quick scheme for sure lol.

I will likely go ahead and get things setup. In the beginning I will have time to fumble a bit as my server won't be relied upon too heavily. Now.. if I was a top 20 witness.. yeah, I would need to be sure things were in perfect working condition as I would be producing a lot of blocks. I'm not even sure I'll be producing any blocks in the beginning until I get voted into the top 40 or 50.

I have a lot to learn and really look forward to it. It's challenges like this that really get me excited! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63626.78
ETH 3301.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91