You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Peaceful Parenting Position on "Spanking"

in #dlive6 years ago

The topic sounds like it may be interesting, I can see the video, but no audio. Is anyone else having that problem?
I may not specifically follow the “peaceful parent” approach, but I have two kids and have not spanked them in years. I don’t think my youngest has ever been spanked. My oldest maybe when he was 2, and I thought “how weird that I just did this because I thought I should discipline my child”. There are much more effective ways, I can assure you of that! Of course you need to guide kids down a positive path, and let them know consequences for action, but spanking is not something we do in my house. I don’t think “spare the rod, spoil the child” is true. My kids are known to be the best kids in the room, respectful, and extremely intelligent, all that without beating them if they get out of line! Kids really can have a rational conversation about why you should or should not do things, you just have to sit them down and have that conversation. They can be in control of themselves, without fear of the switch.

Sort:  

I don’t think “spare the rod, spoil the child” is true. My kids are known to be the best kids in the room, respectful, and extremely intelligent, all that without beating them if they get out of line! Kids really can have a rational conversation about why you should or should not do things, you just have to sit them down and have that conversation.

So right on. Yes, I agree 100%.

Sorry about the audio. I recorded the whole thing before I realized there was a problem. I am uploading a new version right now on YouTube and I will post it here ASAP!

Thanks! I always enjoy your dtube videos! I’ll watch it this evening when I’m back at home!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84