You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should We Go with Solar Power? Renegade's Thoughts

in #dlive6 years ago

Ol cool. I am still in the fog about batteries and what you get out of amp hours... overcharging, discharging too low, controllers and power inverters... But I am learning and like I said befor, what you're doing is very impressive!

How slow will you 900 amp hours start to have tp be recharged? (Approximately)

Thanks

Sort:  

Sorry I was not clear, my bad. I am using 18650 LiIon cells I salvage from old failed battery packs. Once tested, I will ask 10 watts from each cell, for 1 hour at about 4 volts. When I stack 6, I get 24 volts at 60 watts, for one hour. Most will do more than this (some claim 4 times that much), but if I only use that amount, and stop, these cells will last 40+ years. The entire system will parallel 350 to 400 of these battery sticks, which will provide 900 amps at 24 volts for a full hour; with zero battery risk.

The mini-splits draw 900 watts only when they are running, with the insulation I am adding, and new windows, the building will be at least twice as efficient as originally designed. Both running at the same time, draw about 8 amps at 220 vac. This will draw 75amps (while running) from my 24 volt system. My panels will supply about 100 amps of charge; so even if both are running, I will still be charging the batteries with 25 amps.

Since I will be drawing on an Earth battery for air to the outside unit, it will be getting 60 degree air, year round; and they should run a LOT less time that way.

:)

Oh my god, so sorry to reply this late. Busy summer in a new town! You are like a magician. This incredible battery banknyoubare building will last around 40 years??? That is so amazing.

Thanks for the explanation.

Any time I can help! 😁😁😁

I still have to look into those heaters! I forgot...

They draw a little more on heat (4.2 vs 3.9) but they will heat down to a temperature of -22 degrees F.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85