The first of Smallsteps

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

With all the birthday excitement, I forgot to upload what I was meant to show today. Daddy made this video as a reminder for Mummy but to be honest, I think the scars won't be forgotten any time soon.

It has been a rough ride for the last two years and it was only a few hours after my birth that I was taken away from Mummy and rushed to intensive care because my blood sugars dropped dangerously low. Daddy wan't at the hospital and Mummy called him in a panic and he got there faster than I think the police would have liked.

I spent the first 12 days of my life in the ward which meant this video wasn't quite as planned. Babies grow a lot in 12 days, even ones fed with syringes. There were some good moments there though, I had my first bath and my first feeding as well sa the not so great, first needles and blood tests every two hours. The nurses took good care of me though.

They knew me as Lyyli since I didn't have an official name but one of the nice nurses there was actually the first to hear me real name. When I was in hospital a couple of months ago after the seizures, we ran into her in the cafeteria and she even remembered it.

I am glad Daddy made this little tour of nine months as a reminder of how life changes so quickly. Mummy likes to tell a story that she had a feeling she was pregnant and bought a little bear suit for me. After she did the test, she gave the bear suit to Daddy and he didn't get what was going on. What she conveniently leaves out though is that it was 430 in the morning, she had just woken him up and he hadn't had any coffee yet.

My due date was on their wedding anniversary but, I decided to arrive 4 hours earlier so they had at least one day to themselves. So far, they haven't been able to get that day but, perhaps when I am in college. If I decide to go that is.

<3
Smallsteps

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Wow Princess all that you have lived in so little time. you will be a girl very strong and brave in life. God has a great purpose with you beautiful. good night. what rest you.

Those turnaround videos of your mum when she was pregnant with you were a great idea, who came up with that or was it collective? And then you popping up at the very end was perfect XD

Yeh 4:30am and pre-coffee is not the best time for understanding anything, I sympathise with your dad XD

You have had a bit of a rough start haven't you? But you're still awesome if not more so.

who came up with that or was it collective?

It was a collective decision (in case Mummy reads this)

You have had a bit of a rough start haven't you? But you're still awesome if not more so.

I hope it will get easier in time and there are more good than bad times ahead.

After she did the test, she gave the bear suit to Daddy and he didn't get what was going on. What she conveniently leaves out though is that it was 430 in the morning, she had just woken him up and he hadn't had any coffee yet.
This made me laugh hahaha, lovely story.

Brother's great post, good luck always

Thank goodness you get a day to yourself, as well.

My niece was born on Christmas day, which is tough, as her birthday is also Christmas, so we just celebrate her half-birthday to give her her own special day. Your day is your day, which is the best way.

And, judging by how big your mummy got, from that slideshow, she and your daddy won't ever forget that day! :)

Your day is your day, which is the best way.

I gave them an evening for their anniversary tonight. The other 364 are mine.

And, judging by how big your mummy got, from that slideshow, she and your daddy won't ever forget that day! :)

From what I have heard, it is a good thing I couldn't see it.

So strange to see you like this, as newborn, knowing you how you are now. Still cute though.

They would call me 'Slekko', part sloth, part gekko, because of the way I would hang on their shoulders.

You got a 36.32% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @smallsteps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68