You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should We Go with Solar Power? Renegade's Thoughts

in #dlive6 years ago

If you have a choice, go with solar. Your concern with the smart meters is very valid, and the data mining is planned for already, as it is showing up in the trade magazines.

The LiIon batteries can be recharged 15,000 times before they begin to drop any power storage efficiency. Deep cycled once a day would give you 41 years of service, at full power. The lead acids will only last about 5 years; in deep cycle service use.
:)

Sort:  

Thanks for tuning in! Sounds like you listened to the whole thing. Which specific LiIon batteries are you referring to? I have not done a ton of research on them and would be grateful for any leads.

Certain lead acid batteries that are specifically made for off grid application should have a service life of 12-15 years if properly used and maintained. A big part of this being having a large enough solar array that the batteries are not discharged more then 30% on a regular basis.

Lead acid batteries are a minimal installation.I am collecting and testing 18650 LiIon from failed laptop batteries. I have about 7000 watts so far, and will stack them in 24 volt 60 watt sticks. Here is a prototype 12 and 24 volt battery:

20161221_235838.jpg

Here are some tested, salvaged, batteries:

20170330_233644.jpg

20180322_124258.jpg

The actual battery sticks will be in plastic, with about 30 sticks in a 5 gallon bucket, in antifreeze. I plan on about a dozen buckets, which will give me an easy 21,000 watts of storage. If I drain / use it hard I can just about double the power.

I have about $75 in the batteries thus far. In a 300 amp hour 24 volt battery.

I will control each bucket with a microprocessor, and each battery stick will be controlled separately by a TMOS power FET, so if I have a battery problem; it is turned off, and I only loose 60 watts.

I can pull this bad stick, and replace the bad cell; then return it to service.

That sounds pretty badass but also a bit over my head. How do you set up the microprocessors?

Trying to decide which one to use right now. I am a EE, so the design is easy.

BUT the TMOS power FET is like an electronic relay. It has a Gate (like a coil) a Source (the "hot" connection), and the drain (which is the ground connection). Ground the Drian, and apply power to the Gate, and it will conduct from source to drain, at a lot of power! :)

Wow very impressive stuff @smithlabs!!! Also a bit over my head but it does sound like you're on to something great. So that's 1800 watts per buckets... and 300 amp hours per bucket?

Yes 1800 watts per bucket. But at 24 volts it will be 75 Amp Hours per bucket. I have enough salvaged and tested batteries for 4 buckets which will be 300 Amp Hours total so far.

I will begin with 12 buckets and 900 Amp Hours at 24 volts. This is the same storage as a 12 volt 1800 Amp Hour battery.

Ol cool. I am still in the fog about batteries and what you get out of amp hours... overcharging, discharging too low, controllers and power inverters... But I am learning and like I said befor, what you're doing is very impressive!

How slow will you 900 amp hours start to have tp be recharged? (Approximately)

Thanks

Sorry I was not clear, my bad. I am using 18650 LiIon cells I salvage from old failed battery packs. Once tested, I will ask 10 watts from each cell, for 1 hour at about 4 volts. When I stack 6, I get 24 volts at 60 watts, for one hour. Most will do more than this (some claim 4 times that much), but if I only use that amount, and stop, these cells will last 40+ years. The entire system will parallel 350 to 400 of these battery sticks, which will provide 900 amps at 24 volts for a full hour; with zero battery risk.

The mini-splits draw 900 watts only when they are running, with the insulation I am adding, and new windows, the building will be at least twice as efficient as originally designed. Both running at the same time, draw about 8 amps at 220 vac. This will draw 75amps (while running) from my 24 volt system. My panels will supply about 100 amps of charge; so even if both are running, I will still be charging the batteries with 25 amps.

Since I will be drawing on an Earth battery for air to the outside unit, it will be getting 60 degree air, year round; and they should run a LOT less time that way.

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91