The Joy Of Biking!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

While in Portland, @karensuestudios, @muffintuesday and I had the chance to make a couple bike rides. It had been years since I had ridden a bike. It reminded me good memories of my youth where we and me friends would bike pretty much every day.

In July 2016, Portland launched BIKETOWN a bike sharing program with 1,000 bikes at over 100 stations across downtown and several neighborhoods. They cost 12$ for a whole 24 hours.

I love biking so much! I only got a car 3-4 years ago so I was biking everywhere I needed to go.

Those bikes gave us a couple good laughs. 2 codes need to be entered to unlock the bikes. One is a 6 digit account number and the other one is a 4 digit pin.

It should take around 10 seconds to enter those 2 codes except the keyboard makes this very tricky. When pressing the keys, if it's not pressed or released at a certain speed the key won't work.

I'd be very surprised if I had a 25% success rate with these keys. Very often, when the key would work, it would enter the same digit twice.

To top it off, if the last digit you entered isn't the correct one, you'd have to restart all over again which would happen more often than not due to the double entry the keys were prone to.

I guess one gets used to them and get better at it but still, I'm pretty sure anyone who used them once know exactly what I mean.

Once I finally unlocked my bike that's when I realized how ridiculously heavy those Nike bikes are. They have probably been build out of recycled tanks or something.

A disproportionately huge part of this weight comes from the basket located right at the front of the bike which definitely helped this bike receive the prize for the worst bike I've ever ridden.

If I were to go back to Portland, I might avoid the Nike bikes and instead try to buy a used bike at around 50$ and resell it when done.

Nonetheless, they were a lot of fun, kept us healthy and helped the environment.

Some Of My Previous Posts

  1. What Truly Matters!
  2. National Currencies
  3. Cryptocurrencies
  4. Understanding Bitcoin
  5. Understanding Bitcoin Cash
  6. Buying Bitcoin
  7. Knowledge Is Power!
  8. Governments
  9. Exquisite Beauty
  10. Cryptocurrency Stats
  11. Proof Of Positive Influence
  12. Technological Abundance
  13. In The Name Of Freedom
  14. Guillaume Cardinal
  15. Steem Overview

My Best Post


Understanding Steem


Chats


50% of the profit of this post will go to @karensuestudios!


My video is at DLive

Sort:  

This got me cracked up

They have probably been build out of recycled tanks or something.

The heavier the better. 👅.
MEanwhile, you guys wore Nike Jacket, rode nike bike, and even visited NIKEE headquarters. That is a wonderful religion 😀😁😀

I think their heavy weight is some sort of safety measure from frequent thefts. Lighter and costly bikes are always preferred by thieves. Who wants the worst product, not even a thief ...LOL!

:) That's funny

Haha beautiful work my friend ..
Wonderful video from you
Thanks for sharing..

Fun! Riding a bike was pretty much my primary transportation when I lived in the city... not only because of traffic, but also for he cost of parking. Portland is a pretty bike-friendly town, motorists are pretty used to bikes on the road. In the southeast and Texas and places down there, not so much.

I love biking, this is my Electra Ghostrider :-)
IMG_20180525_1139050.jpg

I love a spot of cycling. But only on bikes that weigh less than me. I love how many countries are now really adopting bikes as a form of transport. Less cars, more exercise, safer roads!

Bike riding is good for health , you and yours friends realy enjoyed bike riding .

Wowww... So much fun mehn!

I love riding a bicycle, i feel this kind of ease and peace when on top of a bike. They say life is like a bicycle if you stop peddling you fall. To keep moving you must keep riding. I learnt bike riding with chinnes bike, it was tough but it was the best to learn with. I hope you had a great fun.

The quality of bikes and the cost and convenience (or hideous bureaucracy) varies so much though.

I wish they had some sort of Bike sharing program here in my neck of the woods. Most places in Texas are not very bike friendly. Trails are disjointed, few, and far between. We are lucky enough to have a trail that goes from our town to the next one, about 20 miles or so. It was reclaimed from an old rail rout. All of it in our town is paved, and it's a safe way to get around, with a few strip centers along the way as well as a few places to have a meal. This video makes me want to get my Mountain bike cleaned up and ride some :) thanks for this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86