You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Thinking About Leaving Steemit??? Wait.....Don't Gooooooooooooooo!!!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

I almost left Steemit. I know people who have left, are talking about leaving or are on the borderline. And it isn't because of rewards, or not totally, which I know is contrary to what most think. It's because they feel like they are unappreciated or unsupported by the community.

I disappeared for a good month, and three people wrote to me asking what happened. I've known others who had something similar happen. They aren't getting the feel goods that make them want to come back and keep trying.

Part of this is focus. The focus needs to be on people, because that's what community is. I know we are all busy with posts and projects, but it's easy to lose sight of each other - to not notice the people and interactions that fade away unnoticed. Not notice the people that go quiet. People that arent your besties that might need a little help, or some positive energy.

People get upset or angry, and shit happens. This shouldn't be the end of the world. My view is that we should all be reaching out to at least one person a day that they see needs a little love. Love them.

And to those people who are on the border, who feel like leaving and it isnt a rational decision - speak up! We aren't mind readers. We are here for you.

Sort:  

It can be hard to get people to break their silence when they are discouraged... I know commenting on things doesn't come natural to me. I practically force myself to engage in online communities, but I'm usually glad when I do, given the overwhelmingly positive vibes I get from most people on Steemit.

yay!!! moar positive vibes and happy people!!!

Commenting and being social doesn't come naturally to me either. It's waaaaayyyyy out of my comfort zone.
And true, the positive vibes on Steemit do make it worth it. :)

It can be hard for people to keep up with everything that goes on with Steemit and Discord....add real life crap to that and it can be downright overwhelming.
I think smaller, close-knit communities can help form closer friendships. Like hanging out in the same radio shows every week, @helpie, @thealliance, and the steemit ramble discord (PYPT every Thursday - all day).

agree. sometimes we need to take a step back and re-assess. people change and sometimes changing our scene can be a fresh perspective to get more in tune with what we want to do. i read a few weeks back that social media chat rooms can be incredibly socially stressful. I had never really thought about it until then.

Yeah, general chat rooms are too much for me....especially when a bunch of people are typing at once. I like smaller groups.

yep.. chat scroll sucks. I need to be more aware of my energy level cuz it can stress out really easy and ruin the mood.

LMAO every thursday all day, it really has turned into an all day event every week huh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73