Piper The Watch Dog

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago

Piper is going through some hormonal changes as she transitions into the teenager phases.

She has become watchful over her food, over the kids and the house.

Here she is, sitting on me, pretending to be gentle as she watches out the window for any potential intruders. And as I write this is back at that window barking at the passerby.

Yesterday when I took her out to play in the freshly fallen snow, she still found a moment to stop and watch, even for just a couple of seconds.

My son and Piper played for quite some time, till they tired themselves out and had to just sit for a moment on top of the snow mountain. I think my son learned from her to just sit and be watchful.

As she grows slowly into womanhood, I think Piper will learn to take on the role of being the protector of the family. And I hope she does. We have had a couple of strange people come up to us that we would prefer to stay away from. One being a drunk man last year. He was walking his dog and was asking if I was afraid of his dog. Then he got upset with me after I moved his dog away from mine as Piper was scared. She was only a tiny pup then. The guy wouldn't leave my property and let his dog run loose in my yard without even asking me and my husband if it was ok to do so. No clue who this guy was. I bet it will go differently this summer and that he will think twice before coming here all drunk again.

As beautiful as she is, she is strong and full of love. And still quite playful! Her nibbles still hurt! LOL

Why am I the only one to get these bruises? I am the only one she nips at, thighs, ankles and the back of my arms. Only when we play though. I think it's my fault because I laugh, even when she gets me good. When my kids play, she knows. They don't have a mark on them. I love that.

She is quite a spunky member of our family.

Foxyspirit.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Opal does that too! Except with squirrels coming to and fro. And she's been recently very jumpy lately. But yikes on bruises. How big is piper now?

Jumpy how?

It is hard to say how big she is. I am 5'7 and when she stands, all she has to do is stretch her neck a bit to lick me in the face (not so fun part) lol. Standing on all 4's she is a tad above knee height. I haven't had her weighed in a while but I know I can't pick her up. I doubt she can sit on my scale. It is too small for her lol.

I think she was 63 lbs 2 months ago when she was weighed just before getting spayed.

Oh she's quite big now! Or maybe I already knew that too and forgot. Yeah I'm 5'9 and Opal is up to maybe upper chest. But then she can jump and hit my nose haha

I had to measure her :P Her shoulders measure at 26 inches.

It sounds like our dogs are similar in size :p

Hello @foxyspirit!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 59 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

YAY! Thank you :D

She looks and sounds lovely and I am sure she will really take a close and good watch over you.

Took close actually. This morning she spotted someone down the road walking their dog and took off running. Wouldn't listen to me at all :( I am starting to wonder if I should bring her to some obedience training school. I can't have her taking off like that. Even when walking I've tried all I could to stop her from pulling, with bad arms I just can't her for a walk. I am looking for someone to take her every now and then but she is so darn strong.

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @foxyspirit! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Hey @partiko. I don't have a partiko account and I don't want one. Spam? Phishing?

Hello! Partiko is a Steem app and it's 100% with Steem, therefore you can login with your Steem account directly!

Hopefully that answered your question!

Posted using Partiko Android

Question is for you to stop spamming. I never asked for partiko. Bug off!

Looking at Piper's pictures, looks amazing. They remind me so much of my dog.

Why thank you ^_^

Is your dog a rottie/doberman?

Actually, he is a Philippine Native dog or Askal. But since we're not together right now, seeing pictures of other dogs reminded me of him.

20190126_090536.jpg

He is adorable!
Oh you must miss him so much :(

It is amazing what our pets do, they have such an impact on our lives.

Take care. Hoping you get to see him soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62