#dogsofsteemit Challenge: Oreo Tongetjie Snugglemuffin Nibbles Vetkop Saunders 💖

Photo taken by @therneau, evidence of the snuggling 😄

This is my entry into @supernovastaffy #dogsofsteemit challenge. I was immediately interested in partaking as, well, cats have their day and it’s only fair that our furbabies have a chance too. I am super excited to introduce Oreo. Some of you might of seen me post about him before but any chance to gloat about him is a chance that I will take hahaha!

He’s also affectionately known as Oreo Tongetjie Snugglemuffin Nibbles Vetkop Saunders hahaha. A very important name for a very important member of the family. If some of the names look a bit strange to you it's because it is in Afrikaans. My husband’s first language is Afrikaans and I love using Afrikaans words to describe things.Below is the reasoning behind every nickname that we have given him. Oreo is an Afrikaans dog. My husband’s first language is Afrikaans and we have always believed in a bilingual household.

  • Oreo – Well that pretty much explains itself. His markings made us come up with that name.

  • Tongetjie – Means little tongue. He loves licking us. We wouldn’t be able to stop him even if we wanted to. He walks up to us, forces his nose in wherever he can and licks. That’s how he wakes Katalina up every morning and that’s the first thing he does whenever he wants something.

  • Snugglemuffin – He loves to snuggle. If anyone is lying on the couch you can be sure that he will be there snuggled up next to you. He snuggles with me every night in the bed and if none of us are sitting or lying on the couch then he is snuggling next to our Black Labrador, Miss Peppa.

  • Nibbles – If he’s in a playful mood and you’re not really in the mood for playing then he will gently nibble anything that he can get his mouth around. I like to think of it as, “come on, I want to play.” He’s excited and he’s trying to make you excited too. Shame, he doesn’t quite understand that nibbling isn’t very socially acceptable.

  • Vetkop- Means fathead. This is my husband’s nickname for him. I don’t particularly approve but it would be wrong for me not include it just because I don’t like it. This is my husband’s affectionate way of admiring his powerful jaws.

At the end of the day he is an amazing addition to our family. We originally made the decision to get another puppy because our daughter is mad about animals. She truly is. We thought it would be a good way to get her to finally sleep in her own bed. Unfortunately, Mommy hijacked him and that plan didn’t work out too well. He does sleep with her but in our bed with me hahaha. They have an amazing relationship. He hates it when she gets upset, which is often, and always jumps up to try and figure out what is wrong.

When I get up in the morning he snuggles with her. Did I mention he loves to snuggle? In the early days I had to force him to go outside in the mornings because he would much rather be warm and snuggly than go out into the cold.

I fell in love with him the moment I saw pictures of him and bringing him home was one of the happiest days ever. He’s been my snuggle partner ever since and yes, he is spoilt rotten. How can you not spoil that face?

His first day at home ❤️️

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😊
All photos were taken by me 😊, with my Samsung Galaxy S8.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

What a nice and cute doggy! great photos, nice family!
#steemitbloggers

Thank you very much for the compliment @protosun.

Dogs quietly enter your life as a puppy or even a little older, once they get to your heart they know how to turn you when getting what they want, I always relate dogs in a home to children, they seem to steal our hearts.... Game over!

Did not know Oreo had so many nicknames, most of my four legged family ended up the same way, yet they always respond no matter @jusipassetti

They really do know how to twist you into doing exactly what they want. They bring so much joy into a persons life and truly do become like our children and part of the family.

Awww he is so cute, and I love all the names. What kind of a breed is it? Looks like a cross between a Boston terrier and a Staffie maybe? He definitely has some Boston terrier in him, that cute pink around the nose and when you look at the inside of the mouth and its pink, then for sure!

Thank you @hope777. He's a staffie. Full of attitude and he knows that he can get away with anything hahaha.

Thank you for answering. Will have to take a closer look at the Staffie's.

Hello @jusipassetti!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Day 5 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge. Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

PS. I just have to say that Oreo is absolutely adorable!

OMIGASH! Oreo is so adorable!!! I love how you came up with his name, it fits on him. Dogs really are a wonderful addition to the family.
I also have a dog like him, though we named her as panda because of her bnw big and small spots.

IMG_20170906_003152.jpg

Her face when I was eating a chocolate.

Too adorable @kneelyrac. I can see how badly she's trying to will that chocolate to fall out of your hand.

Oreo is super adorable, my girlfriend would fall in love! :)

Thank you very much @thegoliath.

AWWWWW!!! What a precious puppy! I love all the names. Maybe my dog needs some more names :) I trip up and call him by our kids' names half the time.

Thank you @byn. I think we all do that hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95