Hollywood Believes In Cloning: They Even Profit From It

in #donaldmarshall6 years ago (edited)

Season 1- Episode 2 of the TV show Eureka

Over the weekend we binged watch a (new for us) TV show called Eureka and in the second episode the topic of cloning came into play. I'm not sure how many of you know about this TV show; but it is a sci-fi, almost comedic at moments, show set in the northwest town called Eureka where geniuses live and are working on landmark experiments and more.

Well a character named Susan Perkins was murdered, laid to rest at a funeral ceremony only to turn up in the town later that day. Huh? What?

Yes... Susan Perkins was cloned.

It took her husband Walter seven...YES... seven years to clone her.

My husband turned to me when this episode was over and asked me... "do you believe in clones?" Now keep in mind he has no clue I have been writing about, researching or even thinking more in-depth about cloning... so I looked at him and without hesitation... I said...

"Honestly... yes I do." Without even thinking. Without even analyzing my response. I just answered. "Yes. I believe it exists right now."

Image Source
One of the most famous and sort of recent big screen cloning movies is The Island.

While I am NOT a wikipedia person, this was the best summary I have seen for the movie.

The Island is a 2005 American science fiction thriller film; in the story, Lincoln Six Echo (McGregor) struggles to fit into the highly structured world he lives in, isolated in a compound, and the series of events that unfold when he questions how truthful that world is. After Lincoln learns the compound inhabitants are clones used for organ harvesting as well as surrogates for wealthy people in the outside world, he attempts to escape with Jordan Two Delta (Johansson) and expose the illegal cloning movement.

OK...OK...WOW!
While I haven't seen this movie for quite a few years, I have to say.... deja vu.
I have added this to my weekly watch list to refresh my memory and to take some more notes.

How much did Hollywood make off this movie?

Worldwide: $162,949,164


Image Source

Imdb gives this summary of the show...

Sarah is a street-wise woman with a troubled past as an English orphan who bounced around foster homes before being taken in by Mrs. S, who uprooted her and her foster brother, Felix, to North America. She has made bad decisions in her life but always strives to do right by daughter Kira. When Sarah witnesses the suicide of a woman, Beth (who looks like her) she decides to steal Beth's identity -- boyfriend and money included -- in an attempt to begin a new life for herself and Kira, with whom Sarah hopes to reunite. But assuming Beth's life -- Sarah eventually learns that Beth was her clone -- doesn't go as smoothly as she anticipates because Beth was a cop caught in the middle of a deadly conspiracy, making Sarah the new target. Sarah must fight to stay alive while trying to escape from the complex web. As more threads appear, Sarah is pulled deeper, and Felix becomes her one true confidant.

Now this is a TV series I had not heard of. I'll be checking my Netflix, Amazon Prime and Kodi for this series. I like to binge watch some TV when I am winding down for the evening.

Image Source

Who can forget this movie from 1996 with Michael Keaton. I can remember watching it with my three kids and we would laugh and laugh; and were clueless about the underlying cloning aspect of the movie.

Doug Kinney (Michael Keaton) is a busy construction worker struggling to make time for his family and his demanding job. When a scientist offers to clone him, Doug accepts and spawns a slightly more macho version of himself. He decides to create a second clone, but this sparks a series of duplications when his second clone begins to feel overwhelmed. Doug attempts to manage his many clones while trying to keep his wife (Andie MacDowell) in the dark.

This has to be about the only positive/good/pro cloning movie I have seen yet. No bad guy, no mad scientist, no ulterior motives. No harm comes to people. It's actually an optimistic view on cloning.

How much did Hollywood make off this movie?

Worldwide $17,602,319



This morning when I logged online and did my normal cruising, I came across this link shared on twitter by @fulltimegeek and settle in with my coffee, doing some curating and the @qurator newsletter; all the while listening to the podcast. I took notes for future posts and research and have come to realize I may be the only person alive, with the exception of my husband, who has never heard of Lita Tequila- yeah she was mentioned and listened to a few minutes of her ramblings on the Unirock show.

UniRocks' Youtube

Disclaimer- this post as well as others with topics and tags containing Illuminati, Donald Marshall, Vrill, human cloning, conspiracy theories and other related topics of discussion on this page are a result of @fulltimegeek's quest to assist Donald Marshall, expose people who are tormenting or stealing other person's livelihoods and/or bringing justice forefront. See FTG's post here. Friendly, mature debate, discussion and viewpoints are encouraged. All posts and articles written on this page and shared on other social media websites and platforms must be known to be of speculation and hypothesis origins.

signature.gif

Sort:  

It seems that the United States is trying to prove his health now, according to the newspaper «Daily Mail» British, Hollywood workers are now interested in the similarity between the descendants of the stars of American cinema and their grandparents, and ask: «Are these genes inherited to successive generations?

You might check out Anna to the Infinite Power from 1983, another movie about cloning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59