Adventures of an Artist: Pen and Pencil Art 🖋✏

in #doodleon6 years ago (edited)

Voila Steemians!

C'est à nouveau moi, Justin.
I have been searching for inspiration lately in order for me to draw. I went on Steemit's art section for hours to grab one. After 2 - 3 hours of looking on Steemians' post, a doodle contest came across my attention.

It was @opheliafu's Doodle Doodledayeo Round 12 Challenge. The three words of the contest gave me inspiration to draw. I went on searching for drawings of a sheep. And aaww, sheeps are really cute. And my interest on doing the art rises. Although it was a doodle contest, it came out that my drawing wasn't a doodle itself (i think...lots of laugh 🤣🤣). Below is my final drawing:

final.jpg

Sounds funny right - that a doodle came out to be the other way around (in my opinion ... hehehe ...). But honestly, I have prepared two sets of rough sketch. I planned out my drawings first before I make and create them. I really planned to create a doodle but the doodle came out to be a fail (maybe the lack of imagination came while doing it 😭😢).

I'd like to call this art Dreamy Sheep. Why? - nothing's special. The word came automatically in my head while performing the artwork (I really sound ridiculous... hahahahaha 🤣). Well, the sheep took a day-off the field during the cold, silent night. Instead of resting for another day, he went up the roof and went star gazing. The bright star took his attention and lifted his hands to admire it.


The Process

I took some photos while performing my artwork and to show you how the artwork goes.

For this artwork, I used a regular pencil for sketching, 3B drawing pencil for shading and detailing stuffs, marker for the edges/rule, drawing pen for the inking of the artwork, eraser and of course, a crazy imagination.

draft.jpg

Before I started my drawing, I went on doing some rough sketch of what am I going to draw. I had drawn a sheep sitting on top of a roof and went star gazing (top) and a sheep went on the streets for a day-out (bottom). That's how my imagination drives my head crazy 🤯.

1.jpg

I used my ruler and 30-60 triangle to prepare my canvas. I have drawn lines as a guide for the drawing. These lines will help me on the later part on where to put the other elements of my drawing.

2.jpg

Then, I sketched on first the location of my subject. I made rough sketch on the rooves of the houses and the trees' leaves. And keep on visualizing on what other elements I need to add. Later on, I decided to put a lamp post

3.1.jpg

Then, I decided to draw a sleeping moon. I used the bottom of my pencil case to make a full circle since I forgot where I put my compass (hehehe silly me). I sketched a half face in side-view of a human to animate my drawing.

4.jpg

Then I drew the clock tower and the sheep. I went on googling for reference on these two elements to make sure my drawing is on the spot. The clock tower expresses the euphoria of the cold, silent night occuring on the town. And the sheep embraces the aura that it emits.

5.jpg

To fill in some gaps of my drawing, I put some bushes and trees. These elements add up details on my artwork which I really liked the most.

6.1.jpg

6.jpg

To make my structures a little more realistic, I added some textures on the rooves and walls. Some are inspired on western-style rooves and some are on the modern roofings. I put some brick texture on the walls of the clock tower and the houses to visualize that these structures are sturdy.

7.jpg

Then, I inked the sketch with my drawing pen.

8.jpg

After the inking process, I erased the unwanted stencils of the pencils before proceeding with the shading for details.

9.jpg

For it not to be bland by just ink, I decided to shade my drawing with a 3B drawing pencil. I just lightly put the shade so that it won't cover some of my brick - and roof - texture. I put a light to dark shade on top to resemble the night sky and erased a part of it to elaborate the shining star.

10.jpg

I erased some of the excess lines and put some final touches on the drawing.


Yours truly with the artwork 😄

penANDpencil.gif

26236823_1189340664529463_1215990758_o.jpg


Thanks for dropping by.
Merci beaucoup!

If you have questions or suggestions, feel free to drop by the comment section and I will try my best to answer your queries.


follow-upvote.gif

Sort:  

A very imaginative piece. Lovely that you have shared your drawing process with us.
Thank you for joining in with this week's challenge and doodle on!

Thanks @opheliafu. I am very grateful that you had this kind of contest which help us artist's to go venture out our imagination.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deejee to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @deejee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Follback please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69032.73
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53