Downvote a Practice.....Let's See.

in #downvote5 years ago (edited)

Since #newsteem introduced, a special liking has been developed for "DOWN-VOTING". The Flagwars has started and many were on a spree on downvoting each others post as they were taking out some personal grudges on each other. Noone ever bothered to understand the proper usage of downvoting on Steem BlockChain.
Do give a thought on downvoting a small user account after looking upon the contribution they are making on Steem.

7wzhx1op1j.png

Though Downvote is free now, but I hardly manage to utilise my downvote fearing, the kind of wrath or reaction I have to face in case any big account doesn't like my downvoting any content. It would certainly create a mess. Who gonna make them clear my prospective of looking things. Each one of us has different angles to understand a topic

I get into this topic after getting few downvotes on my post after HF21/22. **The first one was tonygreene13. On asking he confess he just put a downvote for fun on my post related to hf21/22 , and on second instance I received a downvote yesterday from ctime for buying upvotes from @ocdb on one of my post related to Indian festival celebration.

ai7lakfd1r.png

On both ocassion my content was above par the average with proper drafting and well supported with pictures wherever required. Still I had that downvote. Though it is not big enough to loot my reward but it did put a question on my mind about improper use of downvote.
Why my post was not downvoted by ocdb?? As they made it clear to maintain the standard before buying upvote from their account.

I feel the concept of downvoting is introduced to promote quality on Steem. It is a means through which we can put a check upon Palagarism or Steem reward pool abuse. Considering,these points, we can down vote on following content.

  • A palagarised content, which is just copy pasted on Steem from other source.

  • Abusing reward pool by buying upvotes from Bid-bots on below par content ( like a picture post) etc.

  • Posting too many unwanted mention on your post to attract upvotes.

  • Begging for upvotes through continous commenting.

I remember,my first downvote on #newsteem was on post which made some wrong content without citing the correct source of image. Also the content wass not realistic. I put a downvote and soon been approached to get it rectified, anyway I wanted that user to be better and asked him to bring original and better content to get compensated later. And he happily agree.
It's pretty difficult to make a line between a good content and bad content.

Defination of good content.

While the downvote were introduced,neither Steem nor any witness comes forward to define the boundary of good content. So how one could identify a good content on Steem to give a thought before downvoting. I analysed and zeroed few points to define good quality posts.

  • A good Original content. Properly drafted after considering all the check points.

  • Supporting the content with original picture or citing the correct source of image in case use any external images

  • Proper alligned and grammatically correct content.

  • Content which incorporates all details that is must for the subject.

  • Well explained and described steps in case of art or cooking post.

  • Making lengthy post without repeating the content.

There are so many points to consider a content as good content.

Why User Downvote

After getting the downvote , I kept thinking of possible reason for the flags. I always maintain a standard through posting original content. Still been flagged.

And in case if I argue or backfire, it going to be mess as I hardly find any big whales standing by my side to support or may be they start coming hard on me , making my Steem life more than hell and miserable. The situation is getting worse as no one cite the reason of downvote. I can understand, the second downvote was result of upvote purchase from ocdb which offers good roi only to their whitelisted member. Even they can downvote my post rather than upvote if not found as per voting and quality standard.

Making use of 25% of downvote is worthful to prevent the system abuse and protecting reward-pool, however the thought of getting into any mess with big whales is putting hindrances on the way.

My say

I believe every downvote must be accompanied with a reason. So that anyone comes across may understand the validity of the downvote. Just playing around the downvotes is not going to help rather create a war and hate like situation.
A valid reason may help the user and other audience to get more clear picture.

Rather than making it a practice, just think the reason to cast downvote spell on anyone. I think, giving a deep dive inside Steem, one can find many account spoiling Steem ecosystem.

Hunt the defaulter, not the innocence

Stay Calm....

Keep Steeming...Steem On !!!


My Witness Votes
@firepower , @enginewitty, @blocktrades , @gtg ,@helpie, @abit, @c-squared , @jackmiller, @ura-soul, @blockbrothers, @ocd-witness @bobinson, @jatinhota, @curie, @adsactly-witness, @therealwolf @patrice @reggaemuffin @c0ff33a @thekitchenfairy @drakos @roelandp @good-karma @yabapmatt @partiko @qurator.


Namaste from @steemflow

STEEMFLOW.gif
image

PHC-Footer-05.gif


98cnkpsn26.png


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Ctime and Dicetime both downvote if you ake use of certain bots. that is my understanding of those two downvoters.

It was not bid-bit it was from ocdb and I am a whitelist user. If they notice something irrevelant then they should take care of the downvote

I'm not afraid of downvoting contents if I feel so. Hardly any day goes for me without casting downvotes on posts that I don't think worth the dollar value it shows.

Today I brought down the value of a trending post by over $0.10 and also gave a downvote to haejin whose reward pool rape I cannot tolerate.

Just like gtg mentioned here I always thought of asking you to remove these mentions and banners in the end of your posts. Because it creates kind of bad impression as it involves persistent notifications. And these banners in the end have nothing to do with the quality of a post :) Just a suggestion.

Suggestion accepted 🤟 I agree too many mention cause issue...but to my surprise even after one year no one ever pinpointed. And there was kind of promotion of these witness through my post. Also the banner is too kind of community promotion I am linked with. Though they don't pay me but I think they have well repo and good to be associated with them.
Anyway I will surely make partial changes.
Thank god I have not got downvote for it 😉...which I am afraid of thinking of getting into flag war or getting into any mess with big whales....I have seen people getting blacklisted or completelly be chased away through Flagwars..I salute your valor to take on haejin🙏

I used to downvote him several times when the Bernie- Haejin fight was in it's peak.His days on steem are numbered if continues the same behavior. Blocktrades, theycallmedan and some bidbots are chasing him. Nowadays he makes far less than what I make.

Well I don't think I have downvoted anyone yet. However I did express my concerns or in some cases my angry in the comments I never downvoted.

I think of downvoting as an extreme step. When I person has been warned or adviced by the community to make some changes in the post or quality of content and the user still ignore and be the same that kinda of behaviour does deserves some action.

:-)

Hey dear, good too see you after long. I agree that every abuser must be warned first. But downvote is okay when there is continous offense and user do not stop abusing the ecosystem . Do you find it okay that an user keep buying upvotes for a palagarised content or a post without any content. ...well that is kind of practice that need to stop by downvoting

Hi @steemflow, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @priyanarc!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Hi @steemflow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.207 which ranks you at #3141 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 105 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 146 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Reasons should be given, some is just flagrant abuse and difference in opinion. I don't agree with a lot of things out here but I don't go flagging people for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly, I like to know what the reason for the downvote. Else I would have no opportunity to make any needed corrective editing in my article even when I think I have all 'ducks in a row'. Plain downvoting is unproductive with proper critique. We all learn.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85