You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grow Food Not Lawns ~ Hacketts Cove, Canada ~ Update 2

in #doyougrow6 years ago

I can't recommend salt hay enough for garden mulch to suppress weeds and keep slugs off. As you have a similar climate to us, I figure it's just littering the beach for free. Of course I dont' have too far to walk to harvest the stuff after a good high tide, like we had today!

Looks like fun around your homestead as usual. Have you come up with a name for your home yet?

Sort:  

Salt hay... = Seaweed? HAHAA look at you always teaching me new terms...I still remember my Wellies!!

No, still no name for our home yet, I'm warming up though naming other people's homes lolol!!

Yes, its like that really long haylike brown grass/weed that collects up in big mounds on the beach, I think I've seen it in your beach photos, the puritans called it 'salt hay' so we new englanders still do. Just get armload fulls. It's great mulch as it keeps it moist and when it breaks down makes great soil. When I pick mine up I always get tons of sand fleas jumping, but I mean they can't hurt you, just annoy you and an unfortunate name :) Now get your wellies on and go harvest your salt hay then I'll met you down cellar for a chin-wag and a cuppa. How's that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01