How Much Would You Spend On A Smartphone In 2019?

in #dpoll5 years ago

How Much Would You Spend On A Smartphone In 2019?


When I bought my Galaxy S8+ in end October 2017 it was the most expensive phone I've ever purchased. It was valued around $880 equivalent in INR at the time but I only paid $500 owing to some cashback on my credit card and buy back offer on my S7 Edge from Samsung. It was a good deal and I went with it.

In my experience S8+ has been the best smartphone I've ever used. It has lasted travels across 16-17 countries, clicked thousands of photos, been dropped a few times but hasn't taken any damage (i've shitty slim case courtesy Samsung which I didn't replace this time), the build quality is great. Additionally, I've also recovered my investment on the phone ages ago.

But recently when I saw the prices for some of the new phones such as the Galaxy fold priced at $2000 which is a bit more than my Macbook Pro. I really think this is getting a bit ridiculous now if it wasn't already!

Screen Shot 2019-03-06 at 4.16.00 PM.png

Source

I think a pair price for a good phone with all the features should be somewhere in the $500-$750 with the latter being top of the line stuff. Given how rapidly technology is changing, manufacturers aren't exactly looking to provide customers will long-term value.

Apple which dominated the smartphone scene once isn't quite up there, with many competitors flooding the market with top notch devices at more value for money pricing.

Infact, if it wasn't for the excellent ownership experience with the S8+ I would've probably moved to Apple or OnePlus. I'm hoping towards the end of this year the S10+ would be a proven phone with a heavy discount of some sort as I would like to upgrade to it at around that time.

Anyway, let's get back to the price and have a quick poll. How much are you willing to spend on a smartphone purchase in 2019 and how would you justify the expenditure if it's a really expensive unit?


  • Upto $250/INR 17600

  • Upto $500/INR 35200

  • Upto $750/INR 52750

  • Upto $1000/INR 70350

  • Upto $1500/INR 105600

  • Upto $2000/INR 140700

  • I'm a whale and $2000 is peanuts to me

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

It is insane how much smartphones costs now-a-days. These are great devices but “come on man,” prices are too ridiculous. Payment plans exist because it’s so high.

I vote for:
Upto $500 / INR 35200

I am really stingy... My most expensive phone was my Redmi Note 3 Pro... But that's also not even near RM 800 (about USD 200)... I think I will only choose (not up to) but less than USD 250. 😅😅😅

Voted for

  • Upto $500/INR 35200

Last month I was considering buying one worth $450, the most expensive ever for me, but only because I was seeing it also as an investment to start making quality videos for Dtube. I don´t think the difference between $400-$600 smartphones is big enough to justify the difference in prices, when compared to $1500-$2000 smartphones.

I bet you cant even spot a difference between $200 and $450 phones because (SURPRISE!) they have the same camera.

I would also give not more that 700 $ per smartphone. That's crazy to pay 2000$, you can always look for the similar one but another brand. My husband has also Samsung S8 that has almost the same camera quality as my old Mi 5 phone 😁😂. Selfie camera is much better in Mi as well and it costed 2 times less than Samsung. So i don't see the reason to pay more for nothing 🤔🤔🤔

Yeah that's quite true. I don't use the selfie cam that much but the rear cam is awesome on the S8/S8+. I haven't used the Mi 5 so cannot comment on that but for $500 S8+ was a VFM buy for me. Glad I didn't pay more.

I am waiting for the times when the price of steem reach $10 then only I will think for new smartphone.

For a folding phone not that much lol. For an s10 backed with crypto maybe

Posted using Partiko Android

I will be happy to spend around 500$ as i am thinking to upgrade my phone to one plus but i am having some other priorities first so will fulfill them and then switch my phone.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm always try to know my needs.If a decent price phone can serve my purpose then why should I spend $2000 on a mobile phone. After some days of using a new phone whatever price it is we lost the fascination on that phone. I personally don't prefer spending so much money after mobile phone rather.Because truly to say the basic functions are all but same irrespective of your phone price. Isn't it?

My call is

Upto $500/INR 35200

Voted for

Upto $750/INR 52750

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95