Are You Sure That You Would Live To See Tomorrow?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Are You Sure That You Would Live To See Tomorrow?


I'm making this poll after coming across one of my old articles I wrote about Death Meditation in Buddhism and also about Steve Jobs. You can check it out here.


A group of monks practicing Marananussathi meets Buddha and the subject is brought to discussion. One monk tells that he contemplates that each day he wake up could be his last day. There are many different ways he could face death during the day. He claims to live with that realization.(This is sort of what Steve Jobs claimed to have practiced)

Now a second monk clams that he thinks not in days but in morning, afternoon and evening. Death could come in any of these moments. People die all over the globe and at all sort of times. So this monk lives a day fraction by fraction.

More monks start revealing details of their practice and realizations of the impermanent fleeting nature of life. Some says they contemplate that by the time they eat their meal.... they could be dead. Now how many times have you taken a plate of food and thought "I could be dead by the time I finish this. A bomb could go off or a meteor could crash."??? This is the level of practice and focus and standard Marananussathi had. That's a lot to live up to. Right...... Nope. I'm just screwing with your head. Some monks contemplate that they could be dead by the time they finish half the plate and the list goes on.

One monk goes on to say that he contemplates that the time he take a mouthful of food could be the time his lifetime countdown hit zero. Then another says that he lives with the realization that the length of his life could be the breath he take and he lives his life not day followed by another day but a breath followed by another breath.

At the end of it all, Buddha states that out of everyone who confessed their practices only the last two monks practiced Marananussathi in a proper way. The rest weren't doing it right. Steve Jobs was one with the worst performing group. He was at 0.005787037037037% of the standard. The calculation comes from the observation that a calm everyday breathing happens each 5 seconds.


What Do You Think?


  • I Will Live To See Tomorrow

  • I Will Not Live To See Tomorrow

  • I'm Not Really Sure

  • I'm More Likely To Live To See Tomorrow

  • I'm More Likely To Not Live To See Tomorrow

  • I Prefer Not To Think About Those Things

  • It's All Just Chaotic Unpredictability That Drive Me Mad

  • It's All Upto Destiny/God

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for It's All Upto Destiny/God.

Voted for I'm Not Really Sure.

Life's a bitch and then you die, that's why we get high and eat cheese.

Voted for i will live to see tomorrow

I wish this kind of thing applied to me and worked for me.
However, my current lessons are anything but this.
All i seem to be doing is preparing for a future event.

But, if i die, it was a good day to die.

We all have different paths :-)

Voted for I'm Not Really Sure.

Voted for I'm More Likely To Live To See Tomorrow.

Voted for I'm Not Really Sure.

Voted for I'm More Likely To Live To See Tomorrow.

Voted for I'm Not Really Sure.

I voted for..ugh......ah....oh god I'm having a heart attack.....thud...

Noooo! Someone call an ambulance!
I still haven't read part two of....ugh.... my heart

Voted for I Will Live To See Tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00