Do you use (what dou you think) about double negative? Are two negatives really turn into a positive in your language?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Do you use (what dou you think) about double negative? Are two negatives really turn into a positive in your language?


I am Hungarian.
The usage of double negative is completely natural in Hungarian (we don't even mention it as "double negative" or as anything else), and two negatives in the same sentence are not turning into a positive one in the most cases.
Using double (or multiple) negatives are even grammatically required with negative pronouns.
"Double or multiple negatives are grammatically required in Hungarian with negative pronouns: Nincs semmim (word for word: "[doesn't-exists] [nothing-of-mine]", and translates literally as "I do not have nothing") means "I do not have anything". Negative pronouns are constructed by means of adding the prefixes se-, sem-, and sen- to interrogative pronouns. " - Double negative - Wikipedia.

What about you? Do you use (what dou you think) about double negative? Are two negatives really turn into a positive in your language?


  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am English).

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am Non-English).

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am English).

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am Non-English).

  • I don't use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am English).

  • I don't use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am Non-English).

  • I don't use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am English).

  • I don't use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am English).

some dialects in English do use the double-negative; it's frowned upon in "standand" English (Mid-Atlantic)...but I consider myself to speak Texan anyway ;>

The Southern accent (and it's derivatives) in English derived from a specific English accent (don't remember the name) from North-Central England in which the double negative was standard

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Voted for

  • I don't use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am English).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Xplosive from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are turning (or mostly turning) into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Voted for

  • I use double negative. Two negatives in the same sentence are NOT (or not always) turning into a positive one (I am Non-English).

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94