Dobby ~ The House Elf

in #drawing5 years ago (edited)


IMG_E1843.JPG

IMG_E1843.JPG

Dobby the House Elf ..

Harry Potter character
Species: House-elf
Occupations: Malfoy family's house-elf, Hogwarts kitchens worker
Employers: Draco Malfoy, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
Played by: Toby Jones
Creator: J. K. Rowling
IMG_E1835.JPG
[Credits Above]

Today I Wanted To Post About ..

Another blind contour drawing I made. For those of you just tuning in and wondering what I am talking about, Blind Contour Drawing is when you look only at your subject while you attempt to draw what you see. You never lift the drawing tool off of the surface nor ever look at the drawing until finished! So the process is referred to as ‘Blind’, and contains ONE continuous line.

I Found Myself ..

Watching Harry Potter the other night. I has been on TV a lot for the last few months. For some reason I always find myself holding the remote and not turning the station, even though I’ve seen these movies a thousand times. There is something magical and mysteriously wonderful about J. K. Rowling’s creation and plot.

One Of My Favorite Characters ..

Of the series is Dobby. He doesn't appear very often, but when he does he exudes a gentle and humble vibe. Do not let that fool you. If he needs to be, he is powerful and nifty. I was entranced watching his character helping Harry out of trouble, when I realized that I wanted to draw him. Why not?? Why Not draw him using this blind contour method.. Maybe I can improve my eye hand coordination a bit in the process.

The Process ..

I choose a still frame photo of the movie off of the web and utilized this for the subject. (Pictured Above). There is not much to explain about the process other than I trace the subjects main features with my eyes while moving my drawing tool simultaneously. In the end I am either surprised and excited or the whole thing gets tossed in the trash. Nothing in between really. This time I liked what I saw and here it is! A little grotesque but nonetheless interesting. You are either going to like it or hate it. I don’t find too many people who take the middle road. If you haven't created one, try it. It’s hard to appreciate it until you have. After I finish the initial drawing, sometimes I like to shade them a bit. Sometimes I add a little color too. This time I shaded using a #2 pencil and some ink on a tissue. A little bit of blending and that is it. The finished product is meant to look a little rough or weathered.

Progress Photos ..

IMG_1833.JPG

IMG_1834.JPG

IMG_1836.JPG

IMG_1837.JPG

IMG_1838.JPG

IMG_E1843.JPG

The Tools Used ..

IMG_E1842.JPG

I Am Happy With The Final Creation ..

I think I achieved what I was after here. This depiction has similarities to the original Dobby, but with my artistic twist. I am satisfied. I hope you feel the same :-)

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

More About Dobby ..

Source is Wikipedia

Dobby is a "house-elf" in the Harry Potter series. He was once owned by the Malfoy family, and he first appears in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets to discourage Harry from returning to Hogwarts. Dobby later tries to keep Harry away from Hogwarts by magically sealing off the hidden entrance to Platform 9¾, only to be foiled when the protagonists pilot Arthur's flying Ford Anglia to school. During a Quidditch match, Dobby enchants a Bludger to chase Harry, hoping to cause him enough injury to be sent home; but the Bludger only manages to break Harry's arm and the leg of Gryffindor Chaser, Dona Joseph. Dobby discloses that when an enslaved house-elf is presented with >an article of clothing by his or her master, that house-elf is subsequently set free; and when Harry (after returning from the Chamber of Secrets) discovers that Dobby's master is Lucius Malfoy, he tricks Malfoy into setting Dobby free, a feat that secures him the house-elf's undying loyalty. He was now willing to save Harry Potter no matter if it would mean risking his life, because after all, "Harry Potter set Dobby free!"

Dobby returns in Goblet of Fire. Now a free elf, he obtains a paid post at Hogwarts. Dobby also quickly becomes the only house-elf who will clean the Gryffindor common room, when Hermione leaves knitted clothing half-hidden around the room in an attempt to free the elves, which they find insulting. Dobby later appears in Order of the Phoenix, showing Harry the hidden Room of Requirement, which Harry uses for the secret meetings of Dumbledore's Army. When Professor Umbridge finds the meetings later, Dobby enters to warn the group. In Half-Blood Prince Harry entrusts Dobby to watch his compatriot Kreacher when he orders him to work in the Hogwarts kitchens with the other house-elves; and later assigns both to follow Draco Malfoy.

Dobby makes his last appearance in Deathly Hallows when Aberforth Dumbledore sends him to rescue the protagonists from Malfoy Manor after Harry asks for Aberforth's help while viewing his eye in Sirius' mirror, but in the process Dobby is killed by Bellatrix Lestrange. He is buried at Shell Cottage, beneath a headstone bearing the epitaph "Here Lies Dobby, A Free Elf". Dobby's name is derived from a creature in English folklore. This creature performs household chores and is kind to children, as is the character in the series.

Dobby was voiced by Toby Jones in the film adaptations of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1. In the Comic Relief spoof, Harry Potter and the Secret Chamberpot of Azerbaijan, he is played by Basil Brush. IGN put Dobby as their 24th top Harry Potter character, with his death described as "one of the most touching moments in the series." In NextMovie.com's Harry Potter Mega Poll, Dobby was voted the No. 1 favorite magical creature in the series.

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Sort:  

I think that's cool! And I know I would never get any where as near using that method! Or anything recognisable at all... lol

You might surprise yourself!

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 46% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared and curators!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86