Original Drawing - "Fancy Frank"

in #drawing6 years ago


Greetings Steemians! As you may have guessed, I love dogs and all animals. Dogs are my favourite subject for drawing although, I have done a few people pictures too. I taught myself drawing, from books and by doing tutorials with my biggest influencer; Lee Hammond. At the end of November, I got myself an Apple Ipad Pro and an Apple Pencil. Digital art is completely new to me, and I still have a lot to learn about the app I am using - Procreate. Essentially, I am on training wheels since I haven't drawn anything since 2013. Since this is just a random dog from Pixabay; I shall name him "Fancy Frank." I am not sure what breed of dog he is, but he is very handsome.

Early beginnings, January 5th.



The reference photo from Pixabay.

@braveheart29 xx

P.S. If anyone has a highly detailed photo of their dog, I would love to draw him/her for you and make a post like this. Feel free to message me or leave a link to your image in the comments.

Sort:  

This is a beautiful drawing - you have awesome skills!

Hello again, my friend! Thank you! Have you a favourite photo of Thomas? I could try and draw a cat?

Oh, wouldn't that make a lovely drawing; that would be awesome, thank you for thinking of it! My favourite photo of Thomas Cat is the one on his dog attack post - do you still have the link for it, or shall I drop it in here for you?

I should be able to find it on your page. Might take me a while, these drawings actually take quite a long time.

I've been known to be very patient when something means a lot to me .... :)

(Let me know if you have problems finding the photo.)

I’ve found it and made a start.

Oh, how exciting!

nice drawing!

I alsa made a few dogs portrait in my blog!

I saw them, they are lovely! I have been following you.

I was kinda wondering where you went! Had to come look for you :)
Wishing I had a dog you could draw right now... you're really awesome!

I am so glad you like it! The way I draw is pretty time consuming, this was about 30 hours or so. So happy to have you stop by!

beautifully drawn... what a brave heart indeed

Thank you very much!

Nice! Looks like a chocolate lab? I tried the digital a couple of times but gave it up as just couldn't get the hang of it.

Or possible Weimaraner? He looks fancy and expensive. I find the IPad Pro with the Pencil ✏️ to be quite natural feeling. I have been obsessed with it. I am currently drawing the same methods I would normally use on paper, but this thing is like a Pencil on steroids, being able to undo, and work with no additional supplies and yet still have access to an incomprehensibly huge selection of tools is incredible. Also being able to zoom in on your work to make small adjustments to keep things crisp. I stay up way to late with this thing! Thanks for stopping by!

Is this a download or do you have to purchase extra software? I know exactly what you mean. Once I start doing my artwork, it consumes me until I get it finished..lol

https://procreate.art/ It’s a paid app, but very reasonably priced in my opinion.

Cool, I will check it out!

Hmmm, I have a question for you! :D
Seeing as you put a more blurred/smooth image as the first image (and thumbnail)... Do you like the blurred/smooth image more than the "sharper" one? I'm obviously not good at picking words to describe the two, but I hope you understand what I mean. :3

Splendid drawing once again though! :D

I prefer the photo realistic look, this one didn’t really didn’t hit the mark. Maybe it just needs another 10 hours or so. I am working with a technical Pencil mainly, so it’s slow. Probably better ways to do this, but I am self taught. I think this was about 30 hours. Good thing, this is for fun and not money!

I prefer that one too :D
Might be. But as long as you're having fun drawing the way you draw... It's the best way you can go about it! :D
And yeah :P Agreed. :p

Have you seen my new one? Lucy ... the bitch dog. Ha ha. The drawing I mentioned that I wasn’t happy with.

Meow done!!

Why did you post this here?

opps i was trying to post something else

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71