Step by step #3 - Making off of a little mermaid

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

mermaid-vignette.jpg

Hi Steemers!

Today, I wanted to share with you the steps of the illustration I use here as avatar :-)
It's an illustration I've made last year for the CDC Challenge, on Facebook. The theme was "mermaid"

Of course I began with a rapid sketch. I wanted to be a little bit original, and I decided to give her ooctopus legs instead of a fish tail. I drew it with the help of a photo reference for her octopus side :-)
I wanted the drawind to be very frontal and symetric, like in a biology book.

croquis.jpg

Once I was satisfied with the line, it was time to color it! As usual, I first made a quick color overview, to give the global direction of the illustration
steps1-2.jpg

Then, I added more and more details ...

steps2.jpg

Still more details, finishing the hands,... And decided to modify the color balance, adding more yellow.

steps3.jpg

Still adjusting lights, levels and color balance, but the modifications are very low in these steps :-)

steps4.jpg

And here is the final result!!

mermaid.jpg

I really hope you liked it, because this drawing is one of my favorites!! I had a lot of fun doing it :-)

If you enjoy my work, please don't forget to upvote, resteem, and follow. Thank you!

See you soon with a new painting!

Hélène

Sort:  

|Omg... Fantastic.. such a good presentation... wonderful artwork...

The whole 2D painting world is a little mysterious for me and I'm always fascinated. This artwork of your mermaid is such a brilliant, very beautiful, unique and original piece of art. I've enjoyed reading you step by step article and I'm excited what's coming next. keep up the good work!

wow beautiful. which software do you use?

Thanks a lot @abmakko! I work with Photoshop :-)

I'm a process junkie. Thanks for sharing your steps. Voted and following!

Thank you very much @ronism!! I'll post as much steps by steps as possible :-)

I learned a lot. Thank you!

@miyabi : You're welcome :-) Thanks for your comment!

that colors and lighting , really nice :D

Such a cute mermaid! Thanks for sharing your process. Glad to have you in the steem-cartoon community.

Thank you @thunderbirdcomic, it's a pleasure to be in the steem-cartoon community :-)

Great work, thanks for sharing process. I am still drawing by hand everything and when I see skills like yours I am fascinated.

Thanks @jungwatercolor! But you know, I can't make oil painting or watercolor like you do ;-)...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64