Merry Christmas 2018

in #drawing5 years ago (edited)

I drew this holiday picture yesterday of my characters from my comic Behind These Birchwood Walls. I stayed up until probably 3 AM finishing the rendering. The blonde guy is Acario Ambrose and the brunette is Adrian Pembroke. Personality wise, Acario is typically very composed and charming, whereas Adrian is fiery and bratty. Like they say, opposites attract. I'm not really certain exactly what Acario would have put in the box, but whatever it is, Adrian is excited.

christmas+2018_Preview.jpg

Process

Layout

I loosely sketch out the general pose and gesture of the figures. I think this is the most crucial stage of the drawing because it's when you plan general composition as well as get a sense of "movement" in your drawing. I struggle a lot with having stiff figures, so I focus a lot on making sure everything flows and looks natural. In particular, I worked on making sure Adrian's arms had a sense of liveliness as he opened the box.

xmas2018WIP1.png

Sketch

For illustrations I plan on rendering, I do a neat sketch that I color directly under. I don't really ink or line the sketch afterwards, so I try to keep it reasonably tidy. This is where I really start to define the character's faces, clothes, etc. It's important not to lose the flow of the bodies at this stage. I was really happy with the sketch for this piece as I think it captures the character's expressions nicely.

Base Colors + Shading

I decide my color pallet at this point. I drop down colors underneath my lineart. Once I'm happy with the pallet, I go in and start to loosely shade each layer of the drawing (skin, clothes, etc).

xmas2018WIP2.jpg

Rendering

This is the final stage of my illustration where I merge the lines and base colors and begin painting over them to polish off the drawing. I fix minor mistakes and tweak the lighting at this stage.

Christmas+2018.png

Follow Me

Patreon Instagram Tumblr

Sort:  

Great work!
I like these realistic drawings and I like watching them.
Do you use a drawing system to be supported or is it all handmade?
Thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

What a heartwarming moment between these two. I think you did a great job expressing their emotions on their faces and body languages, and the red and green colours that they wear here are so aptly festive ^_^.
                     
Congrats for your curie vote Kyt =).


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @kytcordell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing piece. I love the way you started out your sketching with the complete figure of your model.

Hi kytcordell,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Adrian seems to be excited about his present and Acario looks very happy with what he chose for me - whatever it was it made them both happy :)

You did a very good job with their expressions. And I also like the colors that you chose for their clothes. These are not only Christmas colors but to me they do resemble their characters the way you describe them.

Thank you for sharing and Happy Holidays to you! :)

Although the theme is Christmas, I don't stop feeling the sexual connection between them. Maybe they are not a couple, but I see it that way.

the gift may be a good package ... you know what I mean? package .... you have filled my mind with many sinful ideas.<3 I hope that don't disturb you...

however excellent work.

looking at the picture I wasn't sure if I see a homosexual or heterosexual couple, so I decided to make a research and check your comic at tapas.io. Last screen of the mentioned comic increased my curiosity to the maximum and then you got me with this information on the left side

Warnings: This story includes mature content, Daddy/boy kink, and BDSM dynamics.

As soon as I will understand how this webpage works, I am going to check your art closer :) perhaps even all 89 episodes.

btw. how much time do you have to spend to prepare one episode to be ready for publishing online ?

Very nice festive card, Andrian is like a kid happy for Christmas seems that he was waiting desperately the time when he could open up the presents, the spirit of long awaited is good shown in your picture. Like the sketch as you mentioned it is important to know what posture you want to us and how to place the characters. The color choice was very successful, all together looks really nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60