I have a lot of time on my own - so I have a lot of hobbies

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

So besides working, I was on my own a lot. I get social anxiety from time to time, big crowds is a little intimidating for me. Back home, I go out with one or two friends at a time, I get lost in a big group and almost always end up disconnected. I'd rather stay home and tend to my hobbies.

I have friends who can't stand to be on their own, they get bored, I do too, so I look for things to do. I have many hobbies. I also have very short attention span and am very curious. Thanks to Google, YouTube and Wikipedia, that took care of a lot of questions. Now thanks to Steemit, I get to spend time and make money at the same time haha.

I remember my last job was REALLY an easy one, I get a lot of free time so I took the time to learn French online (you can do that free using an app Duolingo). Although I still have no clue what the French people are talking about most of the time, at least now I can go to a restaurant and know what I'm ordering, that's an improvement haha. Now I'm working on my German.

Right, back in my last job, I made a few things at work haha~ don't ask how, I just did. At one point I was so into guns I made 2 dessert eagle guns out of paper and a shotgun too, somehow I lost the pictures and now I can only talk about it, hmm~ maybe I can give it a try again (would be hard since this boss is different from the last haha). Then I got interested in origami.
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_origami.JPG

My hands were clumsy haha but my attention shifted before long and I became interested in blocks of wood found in Daiso, and I made this. hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_gnome.JPG As you can see it's not very smooth, I didn't have the right sandpaper and I got impatient to do it meticulously haha. I whittled out the shape at work, applied the colors at home (using cheap water color) then sprayed a layer of gloss spray paint to keep the color from fading. Of course it took a few days to finish this. After that I continued with a 'wife' for this gnome, and I got the shape carved out, but just didn't get to apply the color on and now it's somewhere at home. It never got finished and I moved on to something else. I had extra blocks of wood so I made this.
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_halfway.JPG I lost patience with it and that's why it looked unfinished.

For a while, I was looking for a butterfly knife and I bought it in one of the Pasar Malam in PJ, but it was so heavy it was difficult to practice the swings, so I looked on YouTube for some alternatives hahaha~ guess what I found? So I made this following a tutorial on YouTube and it was so nice I made 3 and gave one to a friend. That made flicking the butterfly knife a lot easier and not risk cutting myself haha.
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_butterflyknife.JPG

Then I moved on. I always dabbled here and there, this time I wanted to try my hand at sketching. I've always liked to doodle, but never really paid attention to drawing anything serious. This sketch brings back a lot of memory... it's in one of my doodling books, but I took a picture of it. Come to think of it, I never really mastered sketching haha.
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_sketch.JPG

I guess I'm still better doodling, I never really sketched anything more after that, although I did another one, it wasn't good. Some of my doodles:
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_doodling.JPG

hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_doodles.JPG

When I came to Germany, it was very tough not having someone to talk to, literally. I knew nobody around my age, everybody I knew didn't speak English (except my boss, but that doesn't count coz I can't really talk personal stuff with him). The cold winter was nice, but there was a kind of sad mood to it and I got so attracted to the 'naked' trees.
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_trees.JPG

Before the fidget spinner was on 'fire', I was bored and searched for things to do, initially I was interested in the cube thing, but it was too hard to make, so I went on eBay to buy the bearings and made this:

If you noticed, it was attached to using zip ties, I messed up with super glue, so zip ties will do, but they need constant readjusting as they tend to run out of alignment in my pocket haha. Anyways I got a proper one now, so these are left in my backpack.

It was quite a tough time in March, especially when someone decided to leave my life. hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_doodle.JPG

Finally in April, there came the closure. hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_letgo.JPG

When I went to Abu Dhabi for a job in May, the desert place was equally lonesome. There were no one to talk to except during dinner at the mess hall. Then I tried the trees again. This time with leaves...
hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_tree.JPG

I remember reading about people going to the mountains, looked for tree hole to tell their secrets into. For a long time, I have people coming to me telling their secrets... sometimes I felt like a tree too~ hobby_teammalaysia_drawing_stump.JPG

Lately I am back in Germany and I am running out of ideas to keep myself occupied. I took up some online courses (free of course, I'm a cheap-skate haha), downloaded a lot of movies (just to fill up my external hard drive, I have yet to watch) and downloaded some templates to make a cardboard Glock 19 handgun, now I have to look for cardboards.

Please suggest if you have any ideas what can I do/make. Even better, if you can give me an idea or a blog which talks about social anxiety. Signing off.

Sort:  

Pretty good stuff u know the things u do. Its a sign of creativity. When i feel socially out of place i look at pictures i love like my parents'pics, my pets, my guitar and it fills me with personality again then i become infectious.

I know how you feel at times, although large crowds give some anonymity so I actually kinda like them, but I get it more in medium sized groups. Mostly because I dont want to talk to people. Strange huh?

I pass my time playing computer games and making music or practicing piano or guitar.

cool, I quit computer games long ago, although my hands still itches sometimes haha, I practice both piano and guitar growing up too, but no access to both now. I always think music is my life, but I can't make any music at all. I hum and sometimes play randomly but never really bothered to write it down, not my thing maybe haha.

Why did you quit the games? Get too absorbed? I certainly do :)

You could probably find a cheap guitar or cheap usb keyboard somewhere. If you are looking for a long term, rewarding and fulfilling hobby, you couldnt do much better than 30 mins of piano or guitar a day. I taught myself, just got a chord book and leaned the basic chords. I cant say Im very good but I enjoy it lots :) been playing for many years now so am very comfortable playing what I make and like and thats all that matters to me.

cool... my current job requires that i travel often, so can't be carrying a guitar along. But i do have a harmonica to keep me company, and recently i learned some blues and how to bend some notes

Harmonica! Nice :) I wish I could play harmonica but wind instruments are something I can never quite get the hang of. Im glad you managed to take something musical with you. I think creativity is important for every person on earth.

it is! and i'm glad the Internet brings us all together haha :) imagine back in the stone age haha~

I suspect we wouldnt be so anxious in our stone age alter-egos, not in the same way, no time to feel anxious when your tribe has to follow the herds and watch out for predators and rivals :)

Do you ever get the urge to go back and continue working on those wooden sculptures and models? They are really good!

Maybe, I get excited when I see a nice piece of wood haha, but don't have the right tools. My boss has a workshop but he prefers steel work, so maybe I'm thinking to try some steel work haha

I envy your free time huhuhu...which I rarely have but of course can't compare lah hehehe...you can learn to draw portraits. I am planning a series of tutorials for complete newbies very soon :) Btw, the sketches are not bad.

thank you, looking forward to your tutorials

Lovely post. Thanks for sharing. As for hobbies, I'd suggest learning up WordPress or HTML5 because it opens up a whole new world of creating stuff since you seem to have very creative mind. But that's just my opinion. 😁 Going a bit more geeky .. try learning up some coding and create something for steemians.

Coding... I have thought of that, but the new language kinda scary sometimes haha. My brother always talked about Phython, but I was thinking about coding for mobile app haha. Maybe...

You make full use of your free time creatively. I am an introvert myself and so I like to spend time by myself too. Sorry I forgot to put the teammalaysia tag for this post.
If Life Is About Memories, What Kind Of Memories Are You Building

Great poem! I dabbled a little in poetry from time to time hahaha... maybe next time I'll share some too haha. Great inspiration!

Would loved to read your poems.

Congratulations @melancholee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love your sketches and doodling... I couldn't do that... mine will come out like kindergarten kids "drawing"... my daughters can draw better than I do...
Maybe you can try Zen tangle, or maybe do paper quilling...

oh so that's Zen tangle hahaha, i do that too, but because it's nothing fancy I don't put it up, i didn't even know it has a name haha

LOL.. I couldn't do it well... I have friends who really can zen tangle... My latest project with my daughters is paper quilling.. I will share some of our work later...

would love to see it soon!

Congratulations @melancholee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coloring book for adult?

I went to visit my friend at a hospital. She was warded at Gov. Hospital, her phone was not to savvy, no tv at the ward, but got Tv outside. She is too lazy to go outside. Knowing her and her creativity, i bought an adult coloring book for her.

Just a suggestion. If u already have one good fot you ^_^

I have the coloring book too haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69167.71
ETH 3758.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67