Learning to draw heads and faces

in #drawing5 years ago

2.jpg

Ugh...I really don't like how this ended up, but hey, there are good days and bad days. I struggled a lot on the construction of the face and got the proportions all wrong, her forehead is huge!

I tried to make corrections on the way, but it simply isn't the same as starting on the right track. Awell, here's how it went so you know not to make the same mistakes :) study your reference really well!

1.jpg

2.jpg

Hope you got something out of this post :)

Have a great day friends!

Sort:  

You are brave Michael, for showing the picture that doesn't quite work out. I have lots of those too, but they're buried in my virtual folders XD.
                     
Can't really give you much c&c because I rarely draw person with opened mouth... I guess I should practice those as well. One thing I could say is when the mouth opens, the nose also stretches to the side since they're connected flesh.        
                     
Keep practicising :D

Immediately as I read the thing about the nose I started smiling to see how it works on myself, you're right! It does widen! :)))

Thank you for the support! I hope in a year or so I will look back and have a good laugh with how this drawing ended up :))

I think the angle of the head makes this picture very difficult. This tilt often results in the head looking 'squished' or 'flattened' if the artist isn't careful.

You're doing really well, Mike ! Keep going !!! <3

Thank you spidey!! Your advice is great and I appreciate you deliver it so nicely <3!

You're right, I have to pay more attention to the shape of the forehead when the head is tilted backwards. I will try some more exercises from difficult poses so I get better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31