'Captivated' Gorilla Drawing- OPINION ON ZOOS?

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

I did this piece a few years ago after visiting Artis Zoo in Holland. The Gorilla enclosure is amazing, though there was sense of sadness in the air as I (and hundreds of other people) looked at and took pictures of the incredibly intellegent being that is so similar to us. The way their eyes reflect their thoughts and feelings is so human and is something you can only truly see when you're there in person.

I left the zoo wondering whether it was right to keep such intelligent sentient beings in captivity.. Gorillas, Lions, Elephants, and a plethora of different species. One argument could be that it's important for preservation and has educational value. Some might say it's a glimpse into the 'natural world', while others might say there's nothing natural about it and you could learn more about the natural world by studying the wildlife in your back yard.

The answer sadly isn't as simple as releasing them back into the wild, as their natural environment is no longer a safe place for these endangered species due to human activity and poaching. It's a heartbreaking reality.

It's a complicated moral issue. What do you think?

Sort:  

Wow... I mean have you drawn it by yourself? It so much looks like its been printed by a printer on a single click. I must say you're doing a very good work here. I hope you'll be on top soon. Keep doing the good work. I look forward to hear more from you.

Yeah, this was a piece I did for a college project a few years ago. I was trying a new shading technique which took ages but gives a pretty nice effect. Thanks for the support Nikita. :)

there are ALL amazing!!!! You should be getting so much more than what is here for this talent. I am going to watch this space as I think that you will when people see this!.. :O

Thanks! I appreciate the support, it's just the beginning. :)

I really like your style this is an amazing drawing the gorilla seems real thanks for sharing your work and I'll be glad to hear your opinion about my work here is the link and hope you'll enjoy it :)
https://steemit.com/art/@othmanesl/harry-potter-second-drawing

you need a introduceyourself post to be a successful author; great post

Thanks for the advice, I'll try to make on soon. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69611.55
ETH 3706.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.30