Work title: Glant - Original artwork

in #drawing4 years ago

Hello there!
I'm back!
How are yaal doing?

In recent weeks I realized something. Sometimes less is more. I've worked on the previous piece for a few months, around 3.5 months... When I calculated the hours... It was a bit more than 450 hours of work. And in the end, I still was not able to like it... I will rework it... One day, when I learn what's missing.
However. When I finished the Mermaid piece I found an old drawing that I did maybe 5 months ago, it dawned on me how to kill it, I have a lot of drawing like that. I just start drawing and don't know how to finish them. I guess this is also the case for the mermaid. Here it is:

image.png

image.png

From start to finish, it probably took me 30 hours to finish this piece of work, including the sketch.
It started to remind me of "Dune" and I went with it, sitting on the shoulders of giants was the first thought I had when I laid the first few lines on the paper... After that was just following the shape. Found out that painting with a hard brush is not that hard, you just need a light hand... I was experimenting with different brushed for some time, to gain the feeling of the tool. I made a generic portrait, testing the brushes that I have to see what will work best... Here it is:

image.png

In other news, I have a feeling that I've started selling my soul, getting commissioned to make art for other people, I need funds to renew my workspace and this was the only way... If I want it to be somewhat related to what I enjoy. I try to not treat the commissions as work, as a job. But rather as an exercise, and it really helps so far. At that point I don't know what road to take, one is to keep the commissions as a side income, but short term solutions tend to become permanent. I don't want to be a printer. The commission work is rather mediocre, the pieces that clients want me to make are... Boring. Yet they are willing to pay for that... Fucking hell! guessing the way is to become undeniable with my work. Not sure how or when this will happen but it's a grind for sure...


Tools used: Wacom intuos pen Small; Photoshop CC2018; Mechanical pencil with 2b 1.5mm graphite on 300g a4 paper

If you like my art, please follow me on:
Facebook; Artstation; Deviantart; Behance;Patreon; Instagram; Dlive; Twitter and Twitch

You can own part of my artworks in the Ethereum blockchain Here

ancient one Gray2.jpg

To buy a print or a Limited edition copy of my works
CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Do the boring art work for the clients and the exciting for us,lol

That's the way it seems :D


Your post was manualy reviewed and curated by Vitamin C curation group.

thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64