Animal Skull Studies

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

A cloudy day in Minneapolis and I thought I’d throw myself out of my comfort zone and started sketching skulls. It’s something that I know I’m not good at but I would like to get better. I’ve actually been putting it off for quite awhile now because I know how wonky and out of proportions they end up looking. I have to seriously practice and then practice some more. 

Yesterday’s bouldering was a lot of fun. I thought about climbing before bed and then I thought about it even more when I woke up. It was kind of hard not to think about it when I woke up feeling sore. I was worried that I’d be a complete mess or useless today but I was still able to draw. Yay!

Oh and I really enjoyed the movie that I saw with @jthiessen last night. We went to see the film, “A Quiet Place” and it was really stressful. We were both curled up in our seats because of the suspense. If you’ve seen the film then let me know your thoughts, good and bad. 

I’m not sure what I’m going to be doing with the rest of my day. Sketching, editing, or maybe I should start embroidering. One thing is for sure, I gotta search for something sweet to get my mom for Mother’s Day. 


Thanks for stopping by to view my sketches. 🦊

Sort:  

What a nice idea for sketching ♥ They look adorable! Do you have these skulls at home or who were your models?

Thank you! ^^ Now I feel motivated to do a few more sketches! These were sketched from references I found online but I do have two skulls at home.

Cool, I´m excited to see more!

Skulls are awesome! They can look pretty funny looking though, I’m not sure why. These are great and not the funny kind 👍.

-upvoted-

Really? You think so? I have a bad habit of drawing some of the bones too thick and that’s what gives them a somewhat distorted look. Thanks for the words of encouragement!

Yes, I can tell immediately if they're funny looking because I usually make them funny XD.
You have beautiful soft lines, it's hard to make them look weird. But if you actually make them funny, then just go along with it :D.

I really do love the soft dreamy quality of your sketchwork. I am also a sucker for bones and skulls (I collect some) so doubly love these.

I love these! I like to embroider, I haven’t done it in a while but I used to do it a lot 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27