¿am I Marvel Fan?| Marvel Comics Story

in #drawings6 years ago (edited)

My username is @elcuentacuentos but few know that my real name is Miguel Alejandro and I love comics. I’m currently 24 years old, I’m a journalist, community manager, blogger, video editor, mariabutto’s boyfriend and above all I’m a born dreamer who shapes his fantasies in his sketchbook with pencil in hand. Yes, I have a sketchbook and reviewing it recently I discovered that most of my illustrations are fanarts of Marvel Comics superheroes, that's when this question came to me: Am I a Marvel fan?

BeFunky Collage.jpg

We have all seen even one of the many movies or animated series of Marvel but few know its history. The truth is that the American comics publisher, popularly known as "The House of Ideas", was founded by Martin Goodman in 1939 with the name of Red Circle Comics, which had constant failures. Soon it happened to have the name of Timely Comics being its first relevant publication Marvel Comics # 1 in October of 1939, was there that the name that now leads the industry was introduced and appeared the first Marvel superhero: The Human Torch and the villain Namor. Soon after that, the popular patriot, Captain America, shortly appeared in the industry comics.

10409154_10204056515204041_3366688491306621857_n.jpg

This is my fanart of the Cyclops Instagram

In the 50s the company almost went bankrupt as a result of the economic and social damage left by the Second World War, by that time it was called Atlas Comics and almost closed its doors forever. It was in 1960 that the industry retook the genre of superheroes that had revived thanks to the rival, DC Comics. DC Comics.

And when did Stan Lee appear Stan Lee?

In the sixties, Stan Lee and Jack Kirby created the Fantastic 4 taking inspiration from their rival’s success. The comic was a resounding success that revitalized the company giving way to the creation of the famous Spiderman.

It was in the 70's when "The House of Ideas" wanted to buy DC Comics, but they did not make it. They also appeared in the hands of screenwriters Chris Claremont and artist John Byrne, the popular X-Men which was the biggest success of the company at that time.

The success of Marvel in the 80s

By then, the editor who revolutionized the company was Jim Shooter, healing many errors in the procedures that the company executed. In 1981 he took over the De Patie-Freleng Enterprise animation studio he had created years before for the Looney Tunes. Soon the company was renamed Marvel Productions, it was there that they began to produce animated series for television under the name of Marvel. But shortly after it was sold to New World Entertainment in 1986, three years later it was sold again to Revlon's owner, Ronald Perelman, who added Marvel to the New York stock market and generated a valuable increase in the number of titles in the company. For example, part of that process is that Marvel Productions sold its television catalogue to Saban Entertainment, later acquired by Disney in 2001.
BeFunky Collage 2.jpg

Fanart made by me of Thanos drawn this year before Infinity War, in the middle is an illustration of Ultimate Spiderman and on the right side another Wolverine fanart of 2013


¿Did success follow in the 90s??

Marvel had great benefits in that decade and the genre of comics was at its point of fame in both North America and Europe. They were years in which successes like Spiderman or X-men were revived, and in the artistic field several series and crossover were launched.

I was born with Marvel

In 1994 I was being born in the center of the Venezuelan capital, my family was celebrating with drinks in hand my birth and a few years later I would be the one who would celebrate having known television and with it, the content of Marvel Entertaiment. I remember that in 1998 I already enjoyed the animated series of Spiderman and the X-Men in Fox Kids every afternoon and then with the arrival of the new millennium I saw my first Marvel film in the cinema: The X-Men, starring Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) ( Hugh Jackman)

This intro I edited it with my own illustrations with the Marvel Cinematic Universe style for my Youtube channel Youtube


From 2000 till nowadays

BeFunky Collage3.jpg

From that time I became addicted to all the animated Marvel series aired on Fox Kids, Jetix and Cartoon Network. How to forget X Men: Evolution? I saw the creation of all the Ultimate generation, of each hero before the company attempts to retake power and, without fail, I have gone to the cinema since then to see each film that Marvel positions in billboard as Spiderman, The Fantastic Four or Ghost Raider. Since then, I've experienced it all, including the purchase of Marvel Comics by Disney before the company fell into another Bankruptcy. In 2007 I gave kicks and blows to the pillow when I heard this news, with the fear that Disney would place Mickey Mouse next to Spiderman in a single series.

More than ten years after that, I can say that I've seen the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe led by Disney; from Iron Man (2008) to Infinity War, a film that left everyone with a hole in their stomachs and a lot of mixed feelings. For me, left my mind with an artistic "attack" to continue filling my sketchbook with illustrations and take me to write this post.

IMG_20180616_134532 (1).jpg

Did you see all the illustrations in this Post? Well, they are mine and I made them with a lot of love. What do you think? Am I a Marvel Fan?


“"I used to feel embarrassed because, while I was a comic writer, other people were building bridges or doing medical careers. But then I realized that entertainment is one of the most important things in life. Without it we would sink. Now I feel that if you are able to entertain people, you are doing something good. " ”.
Stan Lee


If you liked this post and my illustrations, you can also visit:

Playing at home: Few resources, a lot of creativity
My first sketchbook tour
The last joke: Joker Fanart

1-divisorio.png

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Thanks for your time to read my content. Also thanks to @celfmagazine and @curie for the support I received in many of my past publications. They are the engine of many users in the platform to continue giving the best of our artistic content.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

pretty nice collection of drawings my friend, its so nice to keep this drawings they bring back all the memories of when we draw them.

oh thanks my partner!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66