Drawitbetter Contest #9 An Elephant

in #drawitbetter6 years ago (edited)

 This is my entry for this weeks Draw it Better contest. It seems every week I'm drawing something that I've never really drawn before, and that's a good thing!

This weeks Draw it Better contest is to draw an elephant.

 Sure we all drew an elephant at one point, but this is my first actual study of an elephant and serious attempt at a rendering.



ELEPHANTS ARE REAL!

 It took me a while to accept it but elephants are in fact real. Despite their larger than life size, hilariously long and dexterous trunks, tusks that must be overcompensating for something and ears that defy proper reasoning somehow they are actually real animals, who knew?! /s

The following gif shows my drawing process



 I made this drawing by first sketching out the rough anatomy of an elephant using several different reference images to help with the form. Then I started shading it in and further filled out the image while still making corrections to the pose. I tried to top it off by having some sunlight coming down through the leaves in patches to light up the elephant.


Thanks to @sirsensei for creating and hosting the #DrawItBetter contest which is now in it's 9th week! https://steemit.com/art/@sirsensei/9-drawitbetter-contest-winners-and-new-theme


Thanks for reading, all work is original by @ckurtish
Sort:  

Thank you for sharing the pictures and explanation of your process. I find this so helpful as I am beginning to draw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3748.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68