@inertia 's drdoogie Trailing Bot Script

in #drdoogie6 years ago

I have been experimenting with @inertia 's trailing bot script for about 5 months or so and I had a few issues with it. If you want to see the original post look at this.

https://steemit.com/radiator/@inertia/drdoogie-rb-vote-trail-bot-update

I dug through the more recent posts and @inertia had fixed a few things.

https://steemit.com/zappl/@inertia/radiator-fix

So I did the "bundle update" command and it updated a lot of stuff.

updating-radiator.png

After that I went ahead and ran it and it seemed like everything was running good!

bot-votes.png

The reason I initially wanted to run the voting trail was to see if the accounts that started with a small amount of power could build up passively overtime. In a lot of ways those accounts don't have enough to really build from curation. Also sometimes it makes it look like a comment or a post is way more popular if there are several votes. It kind of creates a herd mentality and most users don't know who is operating those other accounts so they could tend to vote for them.

Ultimately when running them they seem to quickly get to a point where they don't have enough power to even make a vote. They go under the dust threshold so I'm going to power up a small amount of STEEM to see if one of them will build from that point. Another reason why I locked down a couple of the accounts were to have them kind of like domain names. If the STEEM blockchain becomes super successful accounts could become more valuable overtime.

You guys should go check out @inertia 's stuff. He is a boss and certainly understands this blockchain on a deeper level than most.

Conclusion

Currently I'm trying to do too many things and there is the technical side of things like this that I need to dive much deeper into but initially these things don't usually pay out as well as just posting stuff on Steemit / DTube that will be more for the masses. The goal is to eventually set up a witness node and hopefully get voted higher up so that it is profitable to run. If I could focus more on the technical side of things I think I could gain a little more respect among others coding and running witnesses and seed nodes so that hopefully I could join the crew!

Ultimately it is going to take me either hiring others to help with certain things or get to a point where others are helping me to some capacity.

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for the update. Do the bot currently work? Because the mine is active but it doesn't receive new posts anymore

Well it seemed like I got it worked again but then I'm not sure because suddenly I might not have enough voting power on the other accounts. It seems to be teetering on that threshold of not being able to vote.

Let me try by voting up your comment.

Update: Well 4 out of about 14 accounts that I had in the trail succeeded. But some of them throw a few errors like "Duplicate transaction check failed" So I'm not sure what is going on with that yet. Ok.....it got 6 of the accounts. Some of them throw this exception. "STEEMIT_VOTE_DUST_THRESHOLD" Those accounts don't have any power.

STEEMIT_VOTE_DUST_THRESHOLD maybe it is because those account use a too small vote % or they finished the bandwidth available?

I think the problem is the bandwidth, try looking at the bandwidth avaliable on one of the accounts, you can look that in steemd.com/@the_username.
If thats the problem a good idea would be to delegate some steem power to the accounts, something like 25 steem power should do the trick!

I would vote for you for witness if you got up there.

Imma gonna go follow this @inertia dude. There are so many smart people on steemit. I learn badass new stuff every day.

Cryptos so easy even a mechanic can do it. (with a little help from his friends)

I appreciate that man. I have held back because if a person doesn't get voted up high enough it will be unprofitable to pay the hosting costs especially if a person tries to run a witness and a seed node.

But really when it boils down to it I should just go for it and see what kind of traction I can get. It can be a fairly big commitment just to be on top of everything.

There are tons of really smart people on this platform. It is pretty crazy because some of there stuff I look at and I feel like I'm not even technical. Hahah.

Thanks for the update my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64