Sleepy monsters - Dreams & Drawing

in #dreams6 years ago

Today I rode a train for 8 hours, giving me lots of time for reflection. I made this with my crayons.

520360D1-B7C9-4827-B543-B9E8AB5AE779.jpeg

I have been having strange dreams recently, often with a theme of being chased after some pleasant experience. Last night it was my parents being mauled by a gorilla and I was trying to help save them.

Who knows what it all means... I’ll probably continue my analysis later when I journal about it.

A friend asked me why I think I might be having such dreams. My answer had to do with basically that traveling and being uprooted can feel good and I enjoy adventure, but it sometimes means not being as attuned to my deeper emotions (who I guess I imagine as cute monsters) as I might choose to be if I were more geographically grounded.

So maybe it’s like this drawing. My monsters are sleeping, peacefully I hope.

Mostly, I don’t feel afraid to wake them up. I feel like I trust myself to be connected and empathetic to my internal monsters (or shadows, or demons, or whatever you call them). In my experience, that’s best. And when they feel heard, they don’t lash out in unhealthy or destructive ways.

I believe the parts of me that can be monstrous or vicious are capable of helping me (even helping to guide me at times) to being my best self and always becoming more capable of spreading love and peace through the world.

54DCB56E-B2D9-43C3-BAE1-C5F58537A283.jpeg
Image Source

Of course, there’s always a little fear of the unknown. And my most buried emotions are unknown to my conscious mind. But fear is okay sometimes. I like to think that recognizing and acknowledging it makes me stronger. I often feel more courageous having looked at my fear, saying “hey, I see you.”

Loving my sleeping monsters feels resonant and right for me right now. I am curious how they will feel in my body and what we will manifest together whenever they do awake. Until then, I’ll hope to enjoy the slumber. I wonder what I’ll dream of tonight...

Here’s hoping for peaceful and joyful rest - for me, and for you!

Thanks for reading :)

—-

I post my thoughts, feelings, paintings, poetry, and whatever else I feel like on steemit @em-blem :) follow me if you like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62