Dream Journal: Getting harassed at a beach house by law enforcement

in #dreams13 days ago

I dream frequently. My dreams rarely make any sense in relation to my real life and also rarely feature people that I actually have thought about in a while. They say that it isn't possible to dream of anyone that you have never seen, but for the most part when I do wake up I do not recall having people in my dreams that I have actually interacted with recently. Last night I had a strange dream that featured a group of 4 friends that were at a beach house and had a run in with the "fuzz" who were harassing us endlessly trying to pin some sort of crime on us. I actually do have some sort of reasoning for why I would dream of this.


image.png
src
Oddly, this image was one of the first ones that popped up when searching for "harassed by policewomen" and one of the officers in my dream looked almost exactly like this

So I suppose I should first address why it was that I dreamt of being harassed by a police woman. This might come across as a bit sexist but personally and in my experience, I feel as though policewomen have a greater chance of being the ones that are going to abuse their power. Why this happens probably comes down to a variety of reasons, but of all the times I have been approached by law enforcement in my real life, when they were women, they were far more "hardcore" about it than the men were. This could come from them feeling as though they have to be more serious and in order to prove their authority. There is a theory that many people who pursue law enforcement do so because they felt that they never had power in their own lives and I think there is something to that theory.

In one instance in my life I was traveling to Australia and was intercepted, for reasons I can't imagine, by customs upon entering Brisbane international airport. The woman who was charged with going through my one bag was absolutely brutal. She showed zero respect for my personal belongings and had a passive aggressive method behind every word that she said to me. She was younger than me, and seemed to get a great deal of joy in treating me like a lessor person. All the while that she was questioning me and treating my belongings like they were garbage, she had 2 absolutely massive men behind her that were wearing what appeared to be riot gear standing behind her and I suppose this was to add some credibility to her authority. Later on in this same trip I had a similar situation occur to me while I was on a train to an NRL game and didn't have a ticket for the train. I didn't have a ticket because the gates to the train were wide open and there was ZERO indication at the train station as to how one might acquire a ticket for said train. I wasn't trying to freeload, I simply couldn't figure out how to get a ticket. I presumed that since there were no gates and no vending machines or ticket windows, that one would pay for a ticket on the train.


image.png
src
you just walk straight in here, there nothing stopping you from doing so

Well as it turns out you are meant to acquire a ticket for the train either online or by buying them at a minimart near the train station. How the hell we are meant to know that is anyone's guess, but once again I was approached by a very aggressive woman with 2 gigantic men in tow who treated me like trash the entire time she talked to me.

The women law enforcement in my dream were the same way. They proceeded to attempt to violate my rights at every turn and had to be reminded that they can't do that on a regular basis. They opened doors, bags, and cars without having the permission necessary to do so. The thing is that me and my friends who were at this beach house hadn't actually done anything wrong. Despite having not done anything wrong, I still do not like the idea of people just going through all of my stuff in the vain attempt to try to pin something on me. So in the dream, I was problematic in the eyes of the officers who really took a dislike to me very quickly.

At one point there was a fireworks machine of sorts that looked like a bazooka and the officers attempted to suggest that this was an illegal weapon. Why that was in there comes from a distant memory I had as a child where I actually did have something that was exactly that. It was a roman candle holder, shaped like an RPG mechanism, that was a really stupid thing to sell because it only encouraged kids to launch fireworks at one another and guess what? That is exactly what we did with it.

Back to the dream: These women stuck around for ages, going so far as to look in the garage refrigerators and see beer in there, then question if any of us had been drink driving. I recall responding that "I am an adult and I am allowed to have alcohol in my refrigerator, am I not?" They also found a few old mobile phones in a closet and one of them accused me of having "burner phones" and was therefore a drug dealer. They never got anywhere with this but I also know why these would appear in my dream. I have in my house right now, two old mobile phones that I do not use and I honestly have no idea why I hang onto them. I am not going to ever use them again but this is one of those things, kind of like the cliché about men hanging onto every AC adaptor and cord they have ever acquired because it just seems "wrong" to throw them out. Plus, as soon as you throw it out you are going to need it. I'm not sure why this happens but it simply does.


image.png
src

You hang onto the blue one in the above picture because we are convinced that CRT monitors are going to make a comeback any day now.

So in the dream my 3 friends were useless as far as helping out interacting with the officers and the officers, every time it seemed like they were about to take off and leave us in peace, would find another thing they needed to search even though I continually reminded them that they don't have a warrant and therefore are not allowed to search anything.

If there is one thing I remember about law enforcement, it is that they really don't like it when you remind them that they have limitations on your property, not the other way around, so therefore they just started to "drag their feet" even more. Just like in real life, the police officers were passive aggressive the entire time, and stuck around well beyond their welcome until eventually I kicked them out of the house. At that point they let me know that they would be checking back in on me from time to time.

Abuse of power on the part of law enforcement is something that seriously bothers me and is a big part of the reason why I chose to stop living in the USA many years ago. You see, and I will detail this with a post later on, I actually WAS law-enforcement as my last job before I exited the United States permanently and while I was not one of the people that did abuse their power, I was surrounded by people that were drunk with power on a daily basis. They would gather around the water cooler and coffee station daily to joke around about what they were able to make people do every single day. They seemed to get a kick out of abusing people and while I was not one of them, I had a crisis of conscious because I was simply affiliated with them.

In Thailand and Vietnam, my interaction with police has been very limited but it has the potential to be far worse than it is in America since the police in both countries get to do basically whatever they want. It is by virtue of lack of money available for funding that the populace in both countries aren't simply living under authoritarian rule. Since the police have very little money, you rarely even see them and they don't really bother with enforcement of anything (or so it appears) unless there is some side money to be made on their own part. In a way I think this kind of works because while they are corrupt to the core, there are so few of them that they are almost never a part of your life, and if they are, you can get them to go away for something like $50-$100.

So what do the experts have to say about dreaming about law enforcement harassing you?

To dream of the police in relation to drugs, or drug trafficking can indicate that you have an addiction for something in life.

Sure, once again this one-size-fits-all approach is the horoscope of the MD world

When the police are attempting to arrest you for a crime which you are not guilty of then this is a positive dream that you will win against the competition.

Basically the same thing I just said. This is why I don't believe in psychology. I suppose they have to say something.

Freud stated that cops certainly are a super-ego image, which represents taboos arising out of your childhood.

huh?

One particularly stupid interpretation that I read said that the presence of police in your home in a dream means that this is a sign of good health and prosperity on the horizon for either you or someone close to you. This one sounds the most like hokum to me


Well anyway, last night's dream was one of the more frustrating dreams that I have had in a while and I woke up a bit angry because of it. I suppose you could say that personally, I think I had this dream perhaps as a reminder about how I quite enjoy living in a country where we are not being constantly monitored, or if we are, they do it in such a remarkably covert way that we don't even realize it is there. I say this often but I still can't believe it is true but I had to move to a Communist country in order to experience real freedom.


image.png
src
Believe it or not, these guys are actually OK

I have only dealt with police officers ONCE the entire time I have lived here and that was when I intentionally overstayed my visa by over a year. I knew they would come one day and when they did, they were polite and to the point. They took their shoes off before entering my house and at no point in time did they have a passive aggressive way of dealing with me. Perhaps this was because they were aware of the fact that they were about to hit paydirt with a massive bribe, which they eventually did receive. Well done boys and girls in green!

I hope that if you have dreams that you are able to remember them as vividly as I do because it is actually quite a lot of fun to try to figure out what is going on in this brain of mine. If you have any dreams you would like to share I'd like to hear about it in the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82