Movie Review: Jurassic World Fallen Kingdom (no spoilers)

in #dreview6 years ago (edited)

A New Experience


This is the first movie I have ever attended alone. I woke up this bright sunny day and made myself some breakfast. A bacon hash brown skillet to be exact. Surly no-one really gives a damn, but it was delicious. Anyway, I have this wonderful thing called Moviepass and could see a film for free, so I thought, why not?

Moviepass is a subscription service where you can see unlimited movies per month (only once a day) for $10. It pays for itself in one movie!

At 8:25 A.M I rode up to the theater fully expecting Goggle had lied to me about the run time. Who would go see a movie at 8 in the morning on a Monday! To my surprise right people. 8 others were in the theater with me and I couldn't fathom why or how. A family of three, a couple and one other loner. God these people need to get jobs or a life. After sitting through 20 minutes of previews and Greg Marcus's stupid face I want to punch, the show finally got started.

The Review

Plot


In case you were a bit fuzzy on the first film. One of the main actors Christ Pratt, plays a bad ass ex-military raptor taming hunk. His counterpart and semi love interest Bryce Howard (yes that is a female) runs the park as a business is my life and all I care about is numbers person. Trouble brews when they create a genetically modified hybrid that escapes shreds up the park and people, but is eventually stopped.

The film begins three years after the events of the first with the park abandoned and a volcano on the island primed to explode. Governments refuse to intervene to save the dinosaurs, but old Lockwood (from the original Jurassic Park) is determined to give these creatures a new protected home. His estate trustee is overseeing the operation to save the creatures and he recruits the two who know the park best to assist the endeavor. Needless to say things don't go as planned, there are a few twists and a new hybrid is made. One even more terrifying then the last. The Indo-Raptor

Impression

I enjoyed the first film and I enjoyed this one. No one can kid themselves as to why you see these movies. It isn't for the acting, love arc or character development, although as per usual Chris Pratt kills it. No, you come for the dinosaurs. The first movie gave us plenty, including some incredible fight scenes and this one gives us more. I am utterly impressed how amazing and detailed the dinosaurs in this film look. They are stunning, unique, realistic and at times bad ass. And even though they create the Indoraptor, the T-Rex makes some stunning appearances. He still sends shivers down your spine. The arc in this story is predictable. The supporting cast rather cleshe, but it still keeps you entertained. Sound track was great also.

Pacing is alright in this film, although, like the first one, you never feel like the main characters are in any danger. They have too many last second saves for you too really worry if they are going to be okay. I probably counted 30 times if not more were the main characters should or could have died and were saved by one of two ways.

  • The luckiest timing in the world
  • A dinosaur runs slower then it ever would, takes a minute per step to creep on a defenseless human, or inexplicably runs into something that slows it down even though it's agile as fuck.

I understand they can;t kill them off, because squeal, but it got ridiculous.

There were other small gripes I had with the film, but none that took me out of the film completely.

In the end I certainly think you get your monies worth, it's just not cinematic gold.

3.5/5 Stars

Sort:  

Amazing? that is the wrong word for this movie. The one before was 10x better than this movie. Writing wasn't good, plot wasn't good. Some of the things happening I was just like "really? how the hell does that even happen" Its like the makers decided for the dinosaurs when they made noise around them. They cared way too much about it being scary, too many pop out parts too. Cheap and ineffective

I agree, definitely wouldn't classify it as amazing. You're right in saying sometimes it was like what the hell, but did you at least enjoy the film?

Yes i was entertain none the less. I love dinosaurs and love Jurassic Park. Was just disappointed with this one.

Very nice review, most people go on for too long.

Thank you I also thought the movie had enough novelty to justify a cinema ticket.

Thanks! I was between going really in depth and keeping it this length. Good to know I made the right choice.

The writing in this movie was pitiful, the plot was weak and predictable. Not a good movie. I also have a review on my blog if you want to check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73