Steemit Drone Build: BUDGET AERIAL DRONE!

in #drone7 years ago (edited)

So I'm starting a new build, I decided to build an Aerial Uav for photographs and films. The main purpose of this build is to educate others and hopefully influence with a tight budget to choose this method of aerial photography and videography building for its cost, technology in comparison to aerial drones on the market and the fact you build yourself therefore you know what is broken if anything goes wrong or you crash. This is what you Steemians can expect to see me blogging and building over the next few weeks!
IMG_2543.JPG

To start the build I'm going to need a frame. Choosing the frame is difficult in 2017 with a wide range of knowledge but why? The industries innovation is like none other. The technology is advancing at a ridiculous pace so keeping up with what's going on is pretty difficult. There are many frames to choose from and, due to the fact it's going to be a 450 quad I want to advise two frame types. First and retro frame is the Dji F450. A basic cheap frame that will only set you back £13/20 that's perfect and brilliant for the job. This is the frame I reccommend if your looking to build your own aerial drone.
IMG_2584.GIF

But buying and building a rigid frame means you have to accompany storage so this is why I've put this guide in place. I'm going to either buy both frames in showing or just one maybe both I'm not sure but being on a budget build to prove a point I'll probably pick one. So you can purchase folding 450 frames and many other folding frames of sizes. Looking into 450s here is some frames that are just the same but maybe abit more expensive. IMG_2569.JPG
Or
IMG_2571.JPG

Like I say many other folding frames but I'm looking for a 450 size frame so these can work perfect. On this aerial drone I need to have a camera that is steady so a gimbal will be needed. I have some parts but will blog a proper blog of my build shortly when all parts arrive. This will take a few weeks I'm afraid as some parts come from China, USA and Korea.

Stay tuned for the build! By the way this will cost me about £200 to fully set up purely because I need a new radio. The drone itself I will calculate along the way!

Thanks for reading @crypto-curt for more content!

Sort:  

best of luck!!

I flew my last quadcopter into a lake. I have fond memories of it lol
Maybe I should build a new one...that floats ;) and check my spelling haha

Ahaha well for the build in the picture above take the landing legs off and there is small spikes to lift a few centimetres off the ground, get some tennis balls or foam balls and place them on the bottom! Floats then ;)

Hey that's a good idea! ;)

Looking forward for the build. Do you know which radio are you going to use?

Yeah just a Taranis maybe the original or there 2017 bad boy. I will provide flight controllers other than the Naza V2 incase others want the same build but not a Frsky receiver :) do you build or fly? :)

I was thinking about it for some time, but I think maybe I'm just gonna buy something that is RTF instead...don't know what yet, all I know it has to be portable-something with a foldable frame.

Well this is why I'm blogging because there is a lot of difficulty entering the industry and knowing what to buy. What drone are you looking for racing or aerial? If racing buy or build a small FPV micro quad with brushless or brushed motors up to you the taranis is so simple and you can buy ready to fly but it's more expensive also if you really want to get into the hobby you won't regret learning how to build. It's very easy people think it's rocket science or literally drone science. I personally think it's common sense and mistakes are made but you learn and enjoy because eventually you will have a skill, enjoy the hobby more and can provide great advice. If you want Aerial footage go for a DJI just because they truly are leading the market, but get a drone to practice first or if your in no rush stay tuned and I will provide info on this aerial build. I can assure you one thing, I'm only 23 but being in the hobby for a while I rarely buy drone ready to fly off the shelf. You can seriously expand your hobby over time by getting your own controller like the taranis and building what your interested in around the controller and flight controllers receiver you want. I'm even building a micro racer which I will blog and should provide you with some info from a builder rather than a off the shelf drone :)

I would use a drone for making travel videos...It has to have a gimbal for smooth videos and also has to be portable and small-the size of DJI spark, or maybe mavic. I will also check the web for some foldable frames, maybe I see something I like.

The spark is shit in my opinion. Just running off the Mavic hype to make an extra £ but fair enough. The Mavic is good though I enjoy it just not the spark so much. You should look up the F330 frame and I'll look into a 330 size that folds up, you can run the same flight system in a 330

It's very nice perfect

Thank you for sharing with us! I hope you enjoy the upvote!

Thats awesome!

Really are you the constructor a it is art of engineering

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67536.76
ETH 3771.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57