Diving Into My New DJI Mavik Pro - Drone

in #drone6 years ago (edited)

Wow, this is a whole new world for me,...

So, I bought the drone on Black Friday, late in the day. I unboxed it on Saturday morning. Same day, I did a couple of test flights in my back yard and every since I have been glued to youtube, attempting to learn what the hell l am doing.

I did not realize how in depth you can go with this amazing machine. It's a whole new world for me in many aspects. I am already a super busy guy, I didn't realize I had enrolled myself into University of Droneville.

I really enjoy photography, but as a hobbyist on a very minimal scale. I am a father of seven, so I've taken a photo or two as you can imagine. But, this drone in particular has a very good camera, with wings and It requires building up some skills.

I've never had to consider the world around me in 3D to this extent. Now, I'm looking at all the obstacles that could potentially get in my way and be the demise of my investment.

I did not bother to check this before I bought the drone, but I happen to live right in the middle of a huge 'no-fly' zone. I downloaded an app from the FAA ( Federal Aviation Administration - the US Government arm for regulating air flight ). Come to find out, I'm within 5 miles of a commercial airport AND within 5 miles of a sea plane landing area on the near by lake. SEE PHOTO BELOW:

By the way, the name of the appy is B4UFly. It should be called B4UBuy.

It appears I'll be teaching myself how to use Adobe Premier very, very soon. I've never produced any kind of video, so this is a whole new aspect for me as well.

I need to come up with a name for this drone, any suggestions?

My hope and intent is that I can blog about my learning process and of course, I will be sharing photos and videos from my aerial cinematography collector.

If you'd like to follow my adventure and progress, please Upvote and Follow Me!

Sort:  

Colleague of mine has the same one. It's insane!!

My proposal for a name is:

SteemForce 1

Just remember to salute it before you launch.

SteemForce1, I LIKE IT!! Thanks so much for the idea and inspiration @gikitiki

When do we get to see some flight footage?

It's coming, don't you worry. I think I'll post a 'dronie' tomorrow, maybe tonight

Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for posting in #aerialphotography.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01

Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.03 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received gratitude of 6.00 % from @appreciator thanks to: @gringalicious.

This looks awesome. I was lookin at getting one of these in the near future too! I see @surfermarly recently got herself the same thing. Drone footage is breath taking and the possibilities are endless. Besides a fun hobby, I work in the construction industry so I’m thinking it can be very handy on the job site too

Yeah, I've spent a bit of time in the construction industry and I can very much see some useful applications. Of course the obvious is surveying, but I think many more.

I've opened a rabbit hole that I wasn't prepared for. At the moment it is fun and frustrating at the same time. I don't have the time to dedicate to it at the moment.

WOW, that's a great man. I wanna see some video shoot of this drone. thanks, for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post @afm007

Can't wait to see how you get on with it. Im hoping to get out with mine this coming weekend if the weather is good.

Fantastic. I did a 'dronie' yesterday that I will post tonight or tomorrow. It's horrible, but it is my first. I have so much to learn. I'll be watching for your posts

How about Outabox?

That's a fantastic idea. If I ever create another account, I'll try to remember it

Congratulations @noboxes, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3388 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2681.31. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86