GoPro Karma - Drone Review

in #drone6 years ago (edited)

GoPro has over the years developed a stong influence on little sport portable cameras, and with that has becomed one of the bigest competitor in the market. What people like most about him is that he is portabe, high-quality, waterproof and his wide angle camera pictures and footages.
Also, the company was never satisfied with their current situation, and that's why they were always improving. Their gadgets were always something revolutionary like stabilizers and smart remotes. But this time GoPro has created a more advanced gadget, That they belived will make a diffrence in the amateur/profesional filming industry. They created a GoPro drone called Karma.

5732803cv14d.jpg

source

Features

The first thing you need to know about Karma is that she uses an actual GoPro Hero 5 black camera for the drone. And of course, you can take it off when ever you like. Also, Gopro did something that makes him diffrent then the other drones. They builded in the stabilizator in the neck of the camera holder, and with that they managed to stabilize the footage of the quadhopter even more.


source

After the huge Phantom 4, Karma is the first portable high-quality drone that you can carry around in the backpack you get with her. Of course there were small drones before, but Karma is the first high equiped one. One great thing when you buy Karma is that you get with her $300 worth stabilizer stick for free, and spare parts for her are easy reachable, like propellers or the camera holder. Parts that get easy broken.
1000.jpg
People who have used the Karma controller say that the experience is extraordinary. People say that you have a feeling you are playing a game. It has a builded-in touchscreen display. It has two joysticks, so you have the feeling you are playing xbox one. So you don't need to connect your phone and waste battery for no reason. But not everything is so great as it seams. People were complaining that sometimes they lose the connection between the controller and Karma.
But what if you already have a GoPro camera that is not the Hero 5 black and you want to buy Karma? Don't worry, Karma is compatible also with Hero 4 silver and the Hero 4 black, and will work with those cameras the same as it would with the Hero 5 black you get with her. By that way you can save more then $300.
About the battery. GoPro says that it should last for 20, in reality that is more like 15, and if you want to lisen to GoPro you should land 2 minutes before the battery gets empty. Otherwise it will just crash&die.
I has diffrent types of recording like approaching to, and circling around the target, sadly, it hasn't the follow me mode like the Mavic Pro has but that can be esasily bringed with an software update.
maxresdefault.jpg
source

GoPro Hero 5 black camera

Specifications

Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_3.png
Screenshot_4.png
Price: $800 Karma
$1100 Karma + GoPro Hero 5 black

Specification source

Without question Karma is one of the best drones on the market, I think that the smoothness of the footages can't be compared with any other dron on the market. The great thing is also you have the GoPro passenger app with what you can let your friends let over the control over the drone. I think that this drone is a great oppertunity for those who plan to get serius with movie making.

Sort:  

Did you ever fly a Mavic​ pro? I really like the Mavic​ over all the other drones so far.

alexandermazzei-mavic-drone.gif

I want one of these BAD! Great for making stock video, I imagine this kind of footage is demand given that drones just recently became affordable.

I wish that I had one like this when I was younger :D
Thanks for the comment !

Very good review! I like my Karma very much :) by the way. I blog about drones, too. @tobstar2

Thank you,
I know you do posts about drones but when I tryed to contact you, I never got a answer from you :D haha

Argh, my fault. I simply failed to see your former comment. Excuse me. So far, I'm not in the chat yet, I'll change that in the next few days. ;-) Have a nice day and best regards

Very nice and complete review. Even though i wasn't planning about buying one, after this post I suppose I'll need to think twice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71023.23
ETH 3852.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49