Women Brick Carriers in India - an oil painting

woman-on-right.jpg
All over India, women working in construction is a common site. They are often young and pretty, and manage to do their job wearing a sari and their jewelry. In my mind they appear to be worker princesses.

woman-on-left.jpg
They make up about half of the total construction labor force in India, and are seen carrying bricks, cement, sand, and water. They often live with their families in small hand built huts adjacent to the construction site.

Here is the complete painting:
complete.jpg
I know their lives are hard, and I don't intend to idealize their condition, but I always admired their grace, femininity, strength, and posture.

Thank you for checking out my post; upvotes, resteems, and comments are always welcome.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

Happiness is always a topic of ethics. We know their life is not easy but do you really think that those strong girls are unhappy? Or are they stronger than other women in general? Among several reasons, I think they deserve to be portrayed for their strength.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I think this is an impressive painting, the colors you used are very balanced, a very detailed artwork, and even those shadows are great. Amazing! :)

** This post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project **

Thank you @ailindigo, I tried to capture the particular atmosphere of India.

Another artworks of beautiful simplicity of day to day life that you captured here, Kathleen.    
                       
Somehow you can make mundane tasks look so good in your painting, and I can see the grace and strength of these women from their actions and poses.      
                       
I also love the contrast colours that you put side by side in this picture. Well done :).      
                       

Thank you @scrawly, I always look for beauty in the ordinary - which is not so ordinary after all!

Beautiful painting of hardworking women.. it almost looks like a photo! :)

Thank you. They do manage to look great in spite of harsh conditions.

I don't look this good even if I try hard! :)

I must admit that when I am working on scaffolding I would not be a good subject for a photo.

Exotic women just have something special in them making them look amazing in all situations :)

Beautiful colours, as usual, @kathleenscarboro :) Love the composition as well, it has a great balance to it <3

Thank you @veryspider. I love to paint Indian ladies.

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been resteemed. Thanks for using my resteem service
Get more rewards in my discord server

Σ$$$ Tipped @kathleenscarboro Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.026 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.03 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit @smartcash.

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. See it on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. See it in facebook group

I love how this is also such a brilliant study in warm and cool tones. Besides the great story of the piece and wonderful brushwork and light and dark the rhythm between cool and hot is also really amazing.

Thank you @donnadavisart, these Indian ladies always inspire me.

I must say I love this piece. The powerful feeling I got from this. Might be the favorite art this year I have seen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11