You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Old Dogs and New Tricks...

I am also old enough to remember back in the day when you wanted a phone, you called up the phone guy -- and when he left, voila, you had one.

I also remember when you wanted to change the Tv channel, you got off your ass, changed the channel. Sat back down. Job done.

Nothing works like that any more -- and frankly, sometimes I miss it. I joke about how they have "improved" simple conveniences past all usability. It's becoming less of a joke.

I used to tell @catweasel ... "I just want a toaster. You plug the damn thing in and it works." ---> You don't have to "program" anything, you don't have to scan anything, you don't have to read "instructions" on how to do something you've done your whole life, you don't have to pray to God you don't inadvertently do something that "voids the warranty" because then you're really screwed, you don't have to put in batteries -- or change them, you don't have to find the remote!!

"They don't make 'em like they used to." No shit, Sherlock. And more often than not, now, that is not a blessing.

P.S. Don't get me started on toasters. Seriously. Just drop it.

Sort:  

I am staying very far away forever from the word Toaster!!!!!!!! I promise You!!!

HAAAAAAAAAAAA

HUGS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12