Sort:  

I didn't offer information on the careers/jobs that would be on my list of those I consider to be the most "innocent" in the post, beyond just mentioning their existence. I think we'd need to look at the types of careers/jobs that don't present a literal ready-made opportunity to engage in corruption, in order to identify the most innocent ones.

I was a software engineer for over 30 years. Not once, during all of those years, with 3 different companies, (one being a government contractor), was I presented with a situation where I could use my position to illegally increase my personal net worth. I would say that most careers that aren't involved with control of money and/or power would occupy this category.

The projects that I worked on, and the companys' products, had no ties to anything related to accessing money, power or control. If I'd worked in software development for say, Google, obviously I could have gotten involved in some really shady stuff with censorship, AI, etc., without even trying. So some jobs could fit into the "high potential for corruption" category, working for certain companies, while for other companies they wouldn't.

At one point, I would probably have jumped at a job at Google, but it didn't take long for me to feel the exact opposite way, soon after that.

A political career has always been the easiest career for unprincipled people to illegally enrich themselves, without breaking a sweat. The fact that we recently learned that our congress has had a secret taxpayer-paid hush fund for years, just to payoff the scumbags' sexual assault accusers so they won't talk, should be all anyone needs to know about the corruption of politicians. ALL politicians. It's in their blood. The trick is being enough of a scumbag, that your acts don't keep you up at night. Pols have that trait nailed. As do used car salesmen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86