Get Some [Drop in the Ocean Topic: Obligation]

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

Obligation.png

I just don't get it.

Obligation is work, constantly nagging at your ass, little bugger bites your heel and when you kick it then you are the bad guy. We all have things that we feel we are obligated to do, that is fine when it becomes a problem is when those obligations start to weigh you down.

I have no obligation to my boss per say, apart from after these many years he has helped me a lot so even if I get a job that pays way better I might be inclined to not take it. True story.

From social to moral, business , home and all the shit in between. If it gives you trouble see if you can't drop it, or you might be in for a long ride of pain and suffering.

Edit: The next day

I woke up this morning feeling pretty damn good (well a lot more agro) which is pretty damn good, seeing as yesterday I was pissy which is not good.

So with that explained this post needs an edit because it pissed me off that I did not do it the way I wanted and even now I am not going to, due to time constraints as I am expecting to be far too agitated in about 30min or so to give a flying Scotsman, no swearing, see agro but controlled.

We had our Drop in the Ocean show and to contribute to my pissiness Discord was on the fritz, I got a new phone which also seems to hate working properly no matter how shiny they buffed it. That also has no bearing on anything at all, apart from that during the show I finally got to read the posts a bit something which usually I get to do beforehand which just is nice, you know when something is just nice?

  • Tripping your gran and she does not break her hip, that is just nice.
  • Standing in the queue and a boob presses in your back, that is just nice.
  • Finding out it was in fact just triple ply toilet rolls, that is just nice.
    And if any of you remember this advert then I apologise for my examples



What is not nice is the constant sense of obligation a person gets from just thinking too damn much, you know those lies you tell yourself like daddy will be back, you should not think a post through before typing not even a little, mommy is not a stripper, well that one you tell your friends but I think you get the point.


M


ost obligations are a nice little mixture of peer pressure and the inability to determine that you will suffer a painless existence if you accept them. Mostly we have a choice like in Shadow's Post , making the choice to do what is best not only for her but also still fulfilling a more pertinent obligation.

Obligation is not too oblige , that is the damn problem with social situations they turn from cool don't worry I got it to when did I accept to rule the Vatican and will the pope ever be coming back, I don't mind all this cocaine and hookers but they still try to slip in little boys and for some reason everyone is very uppity about religion. I need a break.

Buy me a beer, I will oblige and buy you a beer... Buy me a beer again then we need to sit down and discuss the finer details of this contract.

S


ocial obligation is insidious, before you know it you are married and have 5 kids none of which you like and given that I am white you suspect that little Jamal is not yours but did not say anything since he is the only one you can tolerate... or is that moral, family, who knows what it is? Really who knows?

My obligation to making a more acceptable post for myself is now complete hence I have run out of things to say. That is how I know I am done with something, it drains me, speaking with people, drained, bye and so on and so forth.


Oh, wait that was premature but better than dry humping.


Obligation is a fancy word it is something you can imagine those uppity fucking Cape Tonians (those proper English people unlike me who is a dutchman) say or some wannabe Afrikaner inbred using it far too often as they sip mampoer while instructing underpaid workers. (I am not that bad a dutchman now that I think about it I am more a redneck).

Moral obligations seem flexible except for the biggies, which are a moving target depending on new terms that get developed like SJW, PC Police, LGBQT and all the ones that relate to animals, environment etc. Too Lazy to google the rest this is because of how we develop discover new ways of literrally thinking about things, so as much as people who have the ethical fortitude to just always know what is correct those in the past mostly did not have a clue and we will keep suffering for the sins of forefathers.

It is our moral obligation to slap anyone who still lives at least a month in the past when it comes to ethical standards.


Social.... Fuck it we got enough to deal with due to what others feel we ought to be doing so when it comes to social obligation wing it, just be clear to yourself whether you are obliged or obligated. That makes getting out alive much simpler.

Sort:  

Hello penderis!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

i can totally relate to the work part you mentioned. i've had health issues for the last ten years and the company i work for has bent over backwards to accommodate me. i've been there almost 11 years and have grown a ton since starting. there's no question i could put myself out there for increase in salary but i just wouldn't do that them.

I almost missed this comment, the notification does not come through since you are actually responding to the bot above.

Yes I agree, there are many pros and cons to a situation like that, in most cases, I do feel what happens is yeah people get better salaries but that company can't give two fucks about them. It depends on whether you have a way to go beyond where you are if it is a case of just more pay but no future growth can really take place then I would not take it since I am very much a devil I know person.

Ya not sure how I ended up replying to the bot Lol... that's how I feel too, you just don't know what's up with a new job. suddenly you're the new guy and if business slows down or they wanna make change, guess who's first on the list.

OMG this is amazing stuff, i just adore your writing. really. you porbably get that all the time. kinda lost the agro and controlled at the end but hey the daddy is coming home and stripper isnt your mom is classic. the boob in your back, 3 ply tissue even is beautiful. ahhaha

your adorant fan,
eagle spirit

The agro does fade as I write, since I cover so much at times and just get exhausted especially if I take into account I type a thousand words and still have not said the things I need, but it also kind of helps me to then find a quiet place to close the post from, the sigh after a big push ;)

@penderis strange, that happens to me too and pretty soon i'm at 1500 and telling myself wait did all i just write make any sense? yours of course is brilliant. glad you are humble, bc then i can say this otherwise i would just skip over any commenting. LOL ego and all that jazz has no place in my circle. you are a good egg. hard boiled, maybe soft boiled. hehe

Hello @penderis, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63241.83
ETH 3086.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82