Started Learning about Drug Wars Tonight but Terrified to Get Addicted to it.

in #drugwars5 years ago (edited)

Is there anyway to not become obsessed with it (and make it NOT a big time suck) ?

And ultimately be able to make a ROI of Steem in a passive way ?

Curious...

to hear if any Steemians are in the Green with making positive Steem per day? If so how much ??

I Guess...

I would sign up under someone's Referral link if I wanted to play Drug Wars??

Conclusion...

Someone give me their best selling proposition of why I should join and start playing Drug Wars ( Below in Comments).

Cheers,
Robert Andrew

Sort:  

You can just wait to get the resources for upgrades and not use it any other time. Or you could occasionally do battles but you have to wait ten minutes between battles anyway, so I find if I go that route I start a battle then do something else and go back once I'm done what I'm doing to see how it went and start a new battle.

It can easily be a time suck and it is tempting to check it and see if you can get anything or if anyone has fought you or if anyone is worth fighting and you could sit there just continually fighting people if you wished and it would probably work out well for people to do that if they consider it worth it, but I don't think its the type of game that is prone to being a timesuck at least.

From my experience time suck type games are more the open world games with no defined endpoints like World of Warcraft, Minecraft etc and games that require a large time commitment like Ark Survival Evolved. I will sometimes hyperfocus on a new game and I did do that to a degree with drugwars when they first brought the fights back (I wasn't playing when they first had them) but then I got bored with the fighting mechanics as they proved to be too predictable (I also needlessly killed my own and another player's army a couple of times due to thinking it would be too complex for being similar to always be a draw, which turned out not to be the case) and now I just battle occasionally when I feel like it (or need just a couple of hundred more of a resource for something). It was more fun though when I thought there was a bit of risk in fighting someone similar to me, but it can all be worked out mathematically as chance / automated dice rolls don't play a role and that's kind of boring.

It only really makes sense to attack people you know you can beat if there's no chance involved, and while that's a strategy and it works, it's more fun being able to occasionally take a risk on a player with a more similar army to you and you only have to do maths to work out how that will work out with the current battle mechanics unfortunately. It'd be better with a range for damage and defense based on the stats and maths behind the scenes simulates "chance" / "dice rolls" and works out how much between that (or whether something hits or misses etc). I was more interested before I knew it wasn't that complicated.

Thanls @birchmark. Wow, what a great reply with so much to help me. You get 1 SBi for more than solid interaction on my bog post here !

No, not anymore. If you had been able to get in at the beginning before everyone else jumped on board you might have had a chance. Right now the only way to really make anything on it is to invest a lot of money. I spent about 20 or 30 STEEM when it first came out and was able to recover about 30 STEEM on top of what I put in. Once I got to that point I stopped spending any STEEM on the game. It is fun, but the rewards have diminished so much as people keep pumping money into it so the smaller players miss out. I set up an account for my wife and she makes maybe .1 STEEM per day. Since she doesn't blog at all, that is still a gain for her, but nothing you could sustain yourself on. My main account was pulling in about 5 STEEM a day at the beginning and now I am lucky if I pull in 1 STEEM between my drug production and the heist rewards. I think if you enjoy playing it you should play it for that reason and not worry about the returns these days.

Thanks @bozz for your detail on this. Really helps my decision :)

It's a good game to play sir. Yes heard a same people is earning money throught this game.

Posted using Partiko Android

THanks @mihirbarot for your reply and insight

I didn't have time to play games because of my busy life, so I didn't know the types of games that were interesting.

I was old school Gamer i.e. Pac Man, Donkey Kong, Galaga etc..etc..

It is a great game and it ia probably fun. You will really get addicted to it. But one more think, if you are thinking of making huge profit from the game as due of your investment. Then this is not the best time to join again and i would not advise you to join either. But if you want to play for fun sake, then i can assure you you can give it a try and i am sure you will like it

Yeah having second thoughts of joining for what you exactly said

The developers have developed something big, and definitely you'd be addicted no doubt, but it's a fun game which you can invest and earn some sizeable amount of steem

Thanks my man. So you've been doing it ??

Definitely yeah I have really, it's been fun

Hahaha....atleast you are tasting it

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes just not sure about all out consuming it lol

We should avoid the dangers of drugs, I am also afraid of drugs let alone become addicts

Yeah this is a game and not real :)

Yes, it’s a math game really, kinda boring yet I can’t explain why but it has me hooked for now...so yeah be careful... heh heh heh... ps... I am in the Clown posse

Posted using Partiko iOS

MAth game ?? Cool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85