Ollas Update: Self Watering Garden System Pots

in #dsnapplus5 years ago (edited)


Do you have trouble watering plants in the summer?

Worry when you go away they'll die?

Does it get super hot in your area, so hot you use far too much water on your vegetable garden?

I can answer yes, yes and yes to the above questions, and in the last few days it's been ovre 30 degrees and as high as 41 - that's celsius for Fahrenheit people - 40C is 104F! Not only that, but it gets super super windy too - I'm talking apocalypse weather.

A few months ago I found a solution - well, two - wicking beds, and ollas pots. Ollas are terracotta urns filled with water and buried in the soil, so the roots cling to the wet sides and take what they need. Yesterday's weather was a real test of both my wicking bed system and my ollas, and I'm pleased to say they worked BETTER than expected. Watch the Dtube for a run down of the pot system and find out what I use to fertilise my tomatoes - too easy, as they say in these here parts!


As you can see below, the eggplant are doing well and the pot is half full of water. It's been a week since I filled the pot so that's pretty good going - it's the biggest pot I have. It's too humid and sticky out there for me to go measure the pot but if you're super keen in the comments I'll let you know when it gets cooler.


The tomatoes on the left are HALF the size of the tomatoes on the right - planted at the same time, with the same soil. I have been watering them with the hose when I can, but quite intermittently as I get busy and forget (hence the research into these pots and wicking beds, which are less demanding).


image.png

Here's the Youtube link in case you have trouble viewing Dtube.

I'll do an update on my wicking beds over the next few days. You can find the link to the instructions for ollas below.

Homemade Ollas: Thinking about Water Use in the Garden Part 2

This is for @minismallholding, who lives in Adelaide and gets similiar weather to me - if they get the heat, sure as hell we will too. It's also for @nateonsteemit, one of the most generous Steemians I know, who lives in Texas.

I'd also like to put a shout out to @phoenixwren, who is doing a fabulous Evergreen Challenge - check it out here. He's doing an update soon as I'm also throwing 10SBI in to the prize pool and I think a lot of you are doing great stuff which you should definitely consider for this challenge.



Would you try these for your garden?

Have you used ollas before?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

image.png

Check out @naturalmedicine and pop into our Discord here

image.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

This seems like a great solution, the only thing I am worried about are mosquitoes, how do you deal with them?

I grow outdoor in Las Vegas and could utilize this to help expand the garden, great share tthanks & resteemed!

Oh, Las Vegas would be a perfect spot for them!

Great!

What an awesome idea with comfrey, and look at your comfrey plants too! What good looking plants all around.

The wind in our area is bad too and it seems to just suck everything dry. I'll almost certainly be using ollas in some beds this year.

Yes, the comfrey patch is right next to the compost for a reason...... Great, stoked you'll be using them too - we are the big experimenters, aren't we!

EVERYTHING is an experiment!

How long will it be before my baby comfrey are that big? I'm thinking of buying some seeding variety so they'll take over the world and make people really mad after we move out of this house 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha they will die off in winter... the roots stay in soil ready for Spring. Not sure how long bit once they are grown they just come back that big every year.

Posted using Partiko Android

They die in the winter? I thought they were hardy plants!

Should I cut and harvest before they all die? Some are still sprouting new growth, well past first frost. And third frost.

Mine don't, wonder if it's a different variety. Hmm. I do harvest for the compost and comfrey tea.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad they are work out great :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Yeah, I'm pleasantly surprised!

Oooo love this @riverflows it rarely gets to 30c in the Uk but its a struggle for sure. Im totally getting in on this next year love thats its watering a slug trap and feed station 😄 i need to find some terracota pots without holes in the bottom that may be my biggest challenge. Thanks so much for sharing 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

@digitaldan just plug em with concrete or putty!!! That's what I did. Click on the link to my previous post which shows you exactly what I did. They were just old pots I had lying around!!! Easy as xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooo missed the link sorry, good idea ive got a few tall narrow terracotta pots that could work great for this, funnily enough there rubbish for growing plant in as the wick all the water from the soil 😄 thanks for the reply

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow , self water garden, it's giving me kind of goosebumps . It's very important too because we forgot sometimes or even we are out for a days. Really you had done a great thing, just keep up the work like this :)
#snapcomment

Goosebumps!!! But yeah, if you are prone to disappear but still want a garden, this is a great choice!

Never thought to do that! That looks really helping!! And for the leaves that you put in the pot, can we add anykind of leaves?

Perhaps - but comfrey is particularly good for tomatoes.

I use ollas, I've got all sorts of old terracotta pots buried in the ground and they've really helped. I forgot to pull them all up before winter so I am hoping they aren't cracked and ruined. I did have the fill the bottom 1/3 with pebbles to slow the water from running out as all my pots had a hole in the middle for drainage. The ground is too frozen and deep with snow to try to recover them.

oh fantastic, great to hear from someone else who uses them! Ooops, hope they don't crack!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by riverflows from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

So happy those are working for you!
they are even doing double or triple duty for you - catching snails and a feeding system for your compost tea!
I couldn't even imagine being in 40 degree heat!
Never gets that hot here but then we always have the cooling shade of the big evergreens!
Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome! yes it's an awesome system, so glad I discovered it. That kind of heat is awful @porters, we all struggle through it... we basically go into survival mode! The evergreens would provide nice shade for sure - but even in the shade it's oppressively hot. Thank goodnessit's cooled down today - I have the doors and windows open now refreshing the air xx

Thank goodness it didn't seem to last long and now you know how to have your garden survive too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13