Abolitionist Abstractions Ep 43: No, I will NOT join your damn political party!

in #dsound6 years ago


Please enjoy this recent episode of Abolitionist Abstractions. Herein I discussed falling behind on podcasts, my disappointment in some folks I have great respect for, a serious lack of historical knowledge, why political crusading never works, leading by example, why I am definitely NOT rejoining the LP, and more!

Jeremy’s links:
steemit.com/@abolitionistjay
twitter.com/AbolitionistJay
facebook.com/AnarchoAbolitionist

Seeds of Liberty Podcast:
solpodcast.org

BipCot license info:
bipcot.org

If you enjoyed this content and would like to support me in making more, please feel free to donate at:

Bitcoin
1GwJgezsed1htdgjX8sY8z58LVNzJZZqb5

or Bitcoin Cash
1F72VATvHs5mw7eYq74Rm8cXjVi6XCbMGw

or Monero
45yZVP5P6JADvbRTnjwvzyiksogwMtQ9AjZBRoNATykZTtEMixAA6uiRFxLsPS7yUQ5CRfBMVXGnncG3e14T6MXrNNtWARK

or LiteCoin
LdwvzThSKxtDDRDsDtVXTikYZiSKdJNCre

or through Patreon
patreon.com/SeedsofLiberty

Love, peace, and voluntary interactions for all!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Great stuff man. Indeed, let us render the state as MySpace 2.0. I myself haven’t logged in government in a while now, and it is certainly sad to see such prominent figures somehow hoodwinked back into believing that the whole meathead ponzi scheme that is “politics” somehow possesses some remnants of legitimacy.

I know, right? Some of these folks I expected this type of thing from. Others kind of caught me off guard. I just don't get it. Where is the historical precedent for this working? Me thinks that some folks focus way too much on economics and forget sll about the lessons from history.

I hear you, and agree, but even a focus on econ should drive them welllllllllll away from that bullshit.

Superb podcast. So far half in.

"Vote harder, vote harder!" I know James Corbett bursted out into it at sometime, but is there a meme for it? Would love it :D.

Edit:

https://steemit.com/voluntaryism/@startupsocieties/free-private-cities-the-future-of-governance-is-private-by-titus-gebel
As you were talking about buying cities, what do you think of this project? (Article is old but Titus is still working on it (everyone can imagine negotiating to get the right to privatize a city isn't really easy.) Not perfectly obviously but a step.
And the relevant site nowadays would be: https://freeprivatecities.com/

I like the idea of free trade zones and places for liberty lovers to live, but I don't believe we should be secluded economically (a ship or small island). We should also be as independent as possible, so a single city is bad. Cities are dependent on outside resources to run. I want to go to a place where we have fresh water, forest, etc. to survive indefinitely without outside trade required.

I understand your concerns. What I had in mind for purchasing a city, though, was more so just to be able to put many of the ideas into practice. There are definitely downsides to such a venture, as you have mentioned, but it seems that most people need real world examples in order to get on board with certain ideas. If a city was successfully purchased and run as a more free society, my hope is that it would encourage others to do the same and lead to a kind of panarchy spreading throughout, say, the USSA.

some people might argue Sandy Springs here https://www.youtube.com/watch? v=f8qFvo2qJOU or the FreeStateProject in New Hampshire for that matter.

That's not a bad idea. Have a bunch of people move to the same area, and once there petition the rulers to incorporate. Bam! You have a free trade city based on voluntary interaction.

autarky, absolutely understandable.

I definitely like these ideas and would love to see them explored more fully. Currently I am working on moving to the Midwest in order to purchase a large plot (100+ acres would be ideal) to set up a farm. After that, the goal is to start moving others in to create a sort of intentional community. While on a smaller scale than a city, I am still hopeful what this will provide a real world example for others to point to when the inevitable "Anarchy can never work!" crowd starts up with their naysaying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56