Running on STEEM Episode#36 - Do We "DESERVE" Upvotes From D Platforms?

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


​Hey, guys!

There's been a real hot topic going around in the last few days. It's all about @dtube's new update and most notably its upvoting policy.

They seem to be spreading out their votes to more content creators now and are limiting the % of the upvotes that used to go to their regular Dtubers.

Some are happy with this new update and have already benefited while those who were used to getting huge upvotes few times a day are now limited to a certain lower and fixed percentage and stand to lose much relative to what they were getting before.

In this episode, I just wanted to share my thoughts on the whole situation.

Hope you enjoy this episode!

Thanks for listening!


Link


Want to start your own podcast show like us?

Or maybe you're a music producer and create your own sick remixes?

Start uploading your awesome content on @dsound for free and join the @dsound community on discord today!


Soundcloud Link


STEEM Geek Podcast



@branlee87 SUCKS at

  • Bloodborne
    Episode : 01, 02
  • The Last of Us
    Episode : 01, 02

BranLee Vlogs!


Movie Reviews by @branlee87


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

This is a great piece, although it would not play past the 10minute mark for me. I had tried several times but it seemed to crash. I had to listen to the entire thing in incognito mode😆 for some reason that worked lol. But thanks for your input. Dtube Darlings is a good way of putting it!

I actually commented on Dtubes latest post about the lack of diversity of upvoting that come from Dtubes account. There are a fair few people who have only joined in the past month and have better rep, more SP and SBD than me. I have posted daily for the past 9months now, 7months on Dtube. Now I don't feel entitled to anything at all but when I have been here for a while and have never got a Dtube upvote it is a little disheartening when I see a whole bunch of people get an upvote on nearly every video and theyve only been here amonth or so. I think my content is good, I'm always trying to improve so always up for constructive criticism. I know the games that I record aren't exactly the inn thing at the moment but they are what I enjoy playing and that's what is important to me.

@heimindanger responded to a comment that I had left asking what time of day I uploaded, and sometimes this varies so I don't think that this is the problem. He also stated that he tells his curators to vote on what they enjoy, which by the looks of it, is nothing like the stuff that I myself create, gaming videos. I stated that someone like me doesn't have a fair shot if the curators wouldn't even look at my video twice let alone watch it to see if it's decent enough to upvote on. I don't know what I can do about that without moaning lol.

Im not a hater either but I agree with what you say about being frustrated about not being able to complain about it without sounding entitled, we aren't entitled to anything at the end of the day.

No there is nothing wrong with being on here for money, isn't that the incentive to be on here in the first place. I'd love to be able to make this a living. I know for me it's so far out of reach although I'm going to stay hopeful. This is what motivates me!
Man I am grateful that I have a small bunch of guys on here that are very supportive and always give me an upvote, nomatter how small or big. That keeps me going. And I agree, good content is subjective. What you would view as good content I may not.

This is something that I genuinely love and I will keep grinding on here and Youtube for as long as I enjoy recording gaming videos. I can only dream that this one day could be a career but Im a realist and know that this will probably only be a hobby for years to come. Man I am ecstatic when one of my posts get over $1.00 😆 because it doesn't often happen.

Dtube upvote or not, Im not going anywhere and am in it for the long haul👊

Also I want to add that when @heimindanger replied to me, he then went on to my channel and gave my lastest post a small upvote, now I am hoping he gave that to me because he seen my comment on the Dtube post and thought to check out my stuff, make sure what I was saying was justified. For me I hoped he watched the entire video and gave me the upvote because he thought my stuff was worthy. I may be reading into that but this is what I assume. I seen it as a kind of nod of approval that my stuff was good and not a pity upvote

Hey, man. Thank you so much for the epic comment. Pretty much mirrors my own thoughts and feelings towards this whole situation.

Yeah, I've seen you post consistently for a long time now and not get their upvote. And if it's because none of their curators like your type of content does that mean your content is no good? Doesn't seem "fair" to me but what is one to do? I know another steemit user who produces what I think is good and quality content but never gets the upvote either. This user has pretty much accepted the fact that he/she will probably never get upvoted and is ok with that and like you, will continue doing what they do because they enjoy it. I really respect that mindset. Everyone can try to adjust their content to be more upvote "worthy" but what would be the fun in that? It'll just be another job.

To go back to the pewdiepie example once again, I have a feeling that old school pewdie was never going to get the dtube upvote had steemit and dtube existed back in the day. To be at the "mercy" of a few curators who understandably have their own tastes and preferences when it comes to content would mean that some of us here on the platform are going to get luckier than others assuming that most videos were made with effort and love. But at the same time I can't fault them for this system. They like what they like and they don't owe any of us upvotes. I may feel that the structure isn't really fair or necessarily operating in the interests of everyone but that's just due to the expectations I had going into it. Doesn't make them wrong but at the same time I'm not obligated to like it :) It just is what it is. To expect them to be able to satisfy everyone and make sure they upvote "good" content is to expect them to be godlike and omnipresent.

Just a thought that I had typing this reply to you, I feel that maybe they could have curators that have interests in a few topics and can be responsible for curating in that genre. An example would be like a pop culture/tech geek curator who will be responsible for curating things like game reviews, let's play videos, gadget reviews and unboxings, and then maybe you can have the motivational/lifestyle vlogger curator who would be responsible for curating videos relevant to that niche.

But anyways, that's just a thought. At the end of the day, It really is up to us what we want to do how we figure out what's the best way for us to earn on this platform. I mean if we really wanted to, we could go start our own video platform and get a massive delegation. But that's definitely not what I came to steemit it do so I'll leave that to dlive and dtube and I'll accept that that's how they operate.

Hope your stuff starts getting more appreciation! You can try out @dlive. It looks like gaming stuff gets more attention there.

See I've thought about Dlive for a while but I'm unsure. For me Dtube is the video platform and Dlive Is the streaming platform mainly which also has the option to upload videos. I see Dtube as a viable Youtube competitor which is why u want all of my videos there. I f i was to switch to Dlive then i would want to backlog all of my videos there which would mean duplicate uploads. The ideal for me would be to upload my videos daily to both Dtube and Dlive but since they upload to Steemit it would mean having the same video post twice on my blog which isn't acceptable but that would be what I would want to do. At the moment im not in the position to make extra videos on top of the videos that I already do because of the time it takes to record and edit them, I work long hours and have a family so im not in a position to do that yet. It's a very tough decision, I have noticed that Dlive tend to dominate the gaming genre and Dtube more of the vlog/lifestyle side of things. But thats all the more reason for me to try with Dtube because I fell like they dont have much gaming representative. Maybe I'm looking at things wrong, or just too much lol.

I see vlogs being the main kind of content being upvoted from Dtube and I genuinely don't think I could adjust my content to be more vote-worthy, I would have to change it entirely 😆

I agree we can't help the content that the curators enjoy. But yes I also feel that Dtube should have curators that have interest in certain fields so all areas are fulfilled. because it seems from my perspective that the few curators they have share the same interests and upvote the same kind of content between them, no diversity at all.

To be honest I don't think I'm going to go off and start my own video platform anytime soon, definitely not my area of expertise 😆 I'll just have to continue to plod along on here like I always have.

I have never really voiced my opinions about the Dtube situation before and I wouldn't have if it wasn't for the fact that Dtube themselves brought to attention the lack of diversity. But I am glad I'm not the only one feeling this way. We'll just have to see where the platform goes in the future, like I said, here for the long haul 😃 Thanks for letting me vent!

I just want to pipe up and say that Dtube have given me a 25% vote on yesterday video. The biggest vote I have ever received on this platform. I cannot believe it, I hope I deserved it!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94