Night

in #dsound5 years ago


I would like to thank my good friend Jim for making it possible for me to hear this piece; I wrote it about 20 years ago, but this was the first time that anyone ever played it. Thanks, Jim.

credits
Written by Bob Ritchie
released January 27, 2011
James Fraschetti - Piano

I wrote "Night" with minimalism firmly in mind. It is not a minimalist piece, however. Still, if any of you think you might recognize the influence of Satie, I won't try to deny it.

Composing is a solitary act. In the first day of this piece's writing, I was alone and feeling melancholic. But as is common (for me), the act of creation lifted my spirits. By about 1:20, I was feeling contemplative, dreamy even, rather than gloomy.

The photo is courtesy of Joseph M. Acaba, the first person of Puerto Rican heritage to be named as a NASA astronaut candidate.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74