A page once fresh (original poetry)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

A page once fresh

---original poetry & images---
----with reading on @dsound----


oncefresh-thumbnail.jpg


oncefresh-thumbnail 3.jpg

.:Listen to:.
.:"A page once fresh":.
Being recited by me at these links:

.:► Listen on DSound:.

.:► Listen from source (IPFS):.


oncefresh-thumbnail 2.jpg


I.

The feeling of a fresh page
& the privilege to demolish its pristinity
Belong to no one - emptiness' own pleasure
& the backwards epiphany of adulthood

Introduction to unforgettable family
I forgot them in gargoyle passion,
Their blurred faces chase me cat & mouse.
Even the certain becomes increasingly vague:
Was my lover even real?
Was she thin smoke?

Cottage of strewn garments,
The paper from packaged goods.
Carpet that is a savior of the ghost alpaca,
Species that are dead and will always be dead.

Abstraction that pierces ligament:
Grinds teeth of iridium & titanium girders,
Loses everyone in a cartoon chase
With unpleasant sound effects.

Uncertainty is a divine face.

Electron bat, whistle of agate,
Cherrywood, pitch, oregano rotation in
An oscillating cube called flesh.

II.

Again the witches' pentagon
Of a broken world breaking:

Pain puts it back together.

Sigh, grimace, joke, rolls eyes:
Lunacy in a 1950's grocery store,
Paleolithic or cyberfuturistic—
The melt of time kaleidoscopes.

It has me in its grasp,
I am soft wax, two decibels,
Eighteen-hundred inches of inches,
A pound is only a pound.

Words bring nothing, they say nothing,
They are crones, bony men, old hags.
They sprinkle sunflowers I am roasting
In death's nest-words fill this space.

Take all pleasure for themselves
Of emptiness' usurpation, but
They give a shining package
With nothing inside.


colortriangle-oncefresh.jpg


colortriangle-oncefresh 3.jpg

Notes


Recently, I've been catching up on uploading poems I wrote a couple of days ago. This one was written at night when I was in a very particular zone. It addresses the strangeness of words, beginning with a completely fresh page and ending with the dubious product of a completed writing. As always I like to address paradox, the mundane and the supermundane. I recorded it on my iPhone last night near my door where you could hear the whistling wind. Later added a few layers in Garageband and an outro with the ambience of the wind. I hope you enjoy this experimental piece! (Note, please let me know if you are able to get this poem to play using @dsound. Some people have been having issues playing the files. Also try downloading it to your computer and see if that works. Thanks!!)

colortriangle-oncefresh 2.jpg

Recording links:

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


colortriangle-oncefresh 3.jpg


star-oncefresh.jpg


negative-oncefresh 2.jpg
negative-oncefresh 3.jpg

Written & Spoken
By @d-pend
3/4/18

Photos taken
With iPhone 5 &
Edited using Lunapic.

redstrip-oncefresh.jpgredstrip-2-oncefresh.jpg


negative-oncefresh 4.jpg


Sort:  

A beautiful write and read. I was particularly struck with questioning line ... was my lover ever real ... If we are truly honest, we can never really know if past loves were real or how they we were real. The memory is a liar. Sometimes it serves ego and sometimes it serves peace and contentment. It is best to welcome the white lies, perhaps. All I know is that those loves are not real now or only real as an evolving memory. Not particularly good to hold onto.

Great insights @prydefoltz. I always appreciate your insight and time in checking out my work. Hope you have an excellent Sunday eve. :-)

Thank you, d-pend. It is a pleasure. You are definitely one of the best here. Still early afternoon here. Going to get some sun.

Nice effects @d-pend. First the pictures and the sound are totally in tune. I like the choice of the cover pictures. Second the sounds are mixed in a way to wrap up the feeling of time blowing in the wind. The decentralized networks are still in infancy so sometimes they seem to fade in and out. One day I may buy an apple device just for garage sounds. I am working with audacity now. My next step is to buy a proper mic that can work with recording onto my android.

Finally, the poem to me is about a life written and a new page turned. It looks like you denied yourself again to write the poem using simple words. One life on earth begins and another fades away. I felt like this when both my boys were born. One day I was in the maternity ward and a week later I was at the funeral home giving my last regards to a grandma my child would never know.

Introduction to unforgettable family
I forgot them in gargoyle passion,
Their blurred faces chase me cat & mouse.

image.png

The poem touches my essence. In my opinion, it is about the beauty of the beginning of life and ends in the same way, but the beauty of death in the twilight of life. A good poem is when each person understands it in their own way. Thanks for sharing part of you in the prose. Greetings.

You are my inspiration..
I am still learning to write longer poems
Beautiful work you got here.....
Though I always read your work with a dictionary...
I've said this before!

Hey, @d-pend, your meditation on the empty page summoned this to mind, by Gibran:

“Said a sheet of snow-white paper, "Pure was I created, and pure will I remain for ever. I would rather be burnt and turn to white ashes than suffer darkness to touch me or the unclean to come near me."

The ink-bottle heard what the paper was saying, and it laughed in its dark heart; but it never dared to approach her. And the multicoloured pencils heard her also, and they too never came near her.

And the snow-white sheet of paper did remain pure and chaste for ever -- pure and chaste -- and empty”

Good Sunday 🙏🏼

@d-pend, I'm glad to tell you that, Dsound nicely working properly to me. You wrote powerful contents indeed nice poem this time. I always attention with your poem and unfortunately couldn't put any comment your last 03 posts. Now It's OK. Night times wrote poem, easy to catch words coz didn't come any worst thoughts at night time. Night time deserve for seep meditation.
A page once fresh expand my heart soul and vocabulary bring me easy mental control place. It's silence location without any crowd. Look your introduction of contents. Awesomeness write and you catch your deep thoughts on-time and contribute vocabulary deserve time. If not this poem not be success. Every time before write poem definitely stay with nature few moment or long term. Finally you given tremendous poetry to steemit world. Thanks for inspiration.
Stay Blessed.

I realize you are taking artistic license, but is 'pristinity' a word?

The state of being pristine?

Yeah, you got it @somethingsubtle. Maybe uncommon, but I'm quite doubtful I can claim it as my coinage. Seems an obvious extrapolation or something I've heard before. Just like pristination would be the process of something being rendered pristine. Basically all words can be transformed into any part of speech, especially in the realm of poetics, lol.

Great work and especilly nice voice to listen. Looking forward to hear more of your work!

Thanks very much! I find that the spoken version helps people get deeper into the piece. I appreciate you taking the time to listen @megy.fine.arts :-)

No problem my friend...Well, I love to listen more than reading and you are doing a great work with the way you are reading it to us...oh yes, I love the noise of the background XD Give it a few more noses, like opening bottle of some cat plying around, maybe rain? It will give it a nice atmosphere!

your video is very good
your poetry is also very cool.

I can not upload the video via @dsound.
my mobile phone is not reaching.
i just 3 minutes ago post a video, but not via @dsound :-( .

Thank you. You certainly have words.@resteemed

Glad you liked it @sarahmcdowell and thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55