From unison

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

From unison

original poetry & audio
featuring photography by Colin H Sillerud


veil_velvet_by_colinhsillerud-d6eyqko.jpg


veil_velvet_by_colinhsillerud-d6eyqko 3.jpg

---Listen to---
"From unison"
---on @dsound:---

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


veil_velvet_by_colinhsillerud-d6eyqko 2.jpg


cat_s_eye_by_colinhsillerud-d63nnp8 5.jpg


From unison

Into the dispersion of mechanistic dreams
Into the endless recitation and posturing.

Audience and playwright all cast in iron:
Carved into hydrogen mountains and light.
Written in fuchsia atop peach topography,
Rising as steam to the heartbeat of night.

Sinking in heat funnels into the meshworks,
Into the grime and dysfunction of mind.
Into the volatile spirit of urgency:
Past the known into the uncertain find.

The memory that can't be readily recalled
Of the beginning—before the writing began,
Forget it: be calm in the tempestuous moment,
Listen to the lecture of the universe to man.

Attend to the spirit of the crazed homunculi,
Tormented soulwanderers still sing their songs.
Minister kindly to bell-laughs and harsh sighs,
Scribble the life-rights and paint over wrongs.

Behold, the genomic star clusters commiserate—
Gossip in sparkling genetics and ice,
Establish the cities of striated latency,
Discuss the dark cities of pleasure and vice.

The course plotted by agency grand
Unveils itself slowly in ambering time:
Variety dissonant drums rhythms querulous
Awkward, off-tempo, yet nearly, they rhyme.

If to unison joined, all is naught but itself:
From the belfry of truth pour the hymns of concord.
But so loud, but so bright—that the ears of the universe
Split, into harmony, from one accord.


cat_s_eye_by_colinhsillerud-d63nnp8 4.jpg

Notes


This originally spawned from the simple phrase "from unison," a pondering on the origins of reality. I thought of creating three drones, one stationary, one that would bend upwards an octave, and one to bend down an octave. I recorded those parts on my keyboard, and then wrote the poem loosely following the feeling of the sound. I played around with some panning and ringshifter automation on the voice for an interesting distortion in parts. The poem explores the concepts of unity, diversity, unison, harmony, dissonance, consonance, etc. I got a comment recently exclaiming: But doesn't it ruin the poem to explain it away? So remember I always present any notes in my posts as optional! Today, no stanza-by-stanza breakdown: but perhaps the audio can provide some insight. Have an awesome day and thanks for taking the time to check out my work. Hope to hear from you in a comment if you have any feedback!

Specs


Tuning: A = 432 hz
Temperament: Equal
Tempo: N/A
Key: C
Length: 2:18
Style: poetry / experimental

cat_s_eye_by_colinhsillerud-d63nnp8 3.jpg

---Listen to---
"From unison"
---on @dsound:---

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

cat_s_eye_by_colinhsillerud-d63nnp8 4.jpg


through_the_rabbit_hole_by_colinhsillerud-d68o9s0.jpg


through_the_rabbit_hole_by_colinhsillerud-d68o9s0 3.jpgtrolldallen_by_colinhsillerud-d690bz5 2.jpg

Writing & audio
By @d-pend
2/3/18
.
Photography by
Colin H. Sillerud


through_the_rabbit_hole_by_colinhsillerud-d68o9s0 2.jpgtrolldallen_by_colinhsillerud-d690bz5 3.jpg


trolldallen_by_colinhsillerud-d690bz5.jpg


Sort:  

“Forget it: be calm in the tempestuous moment,
Listen to the lecture of the universe to man...

The course plotted by agency grand
Unveils itself slowly in ambering time”

I will meditate on the lines, above, before I sleep.

Enjoyed the vatic presentation, effect of a Voice coming from on high, or in deep - same deference

Sweet dreams 🙏🏼

Thank you for this message.
... so truthful and heartbreaking. In one word:

The memory that can't be readily recalled
Of the beginning—before the writing began,
Forget it: be calm in the tempestuous moment,
Listen to the lecture of the universe to man.

This poem is cleansing and calling us to repent. Today's situation around the world is tragic and I need a moment to remember the word before the written word. Thank you for reminding me. I really need to listen instead of trying to get something or make myself something. Thanks for bearing with me and for being with me through your poems. These words stretch universes and will begin the work of restoration and unity. I will listen and be calm instead of being carried by the storm.

Peace

Oh! goodness me, spoken Poetry is amazing, the supporting sound on the background gave the poetry more alacrity and credibility you know, however,this is amazing, the way you allowed your voice to add more meaning to sound and the meaning also aided the way which you moved from stanza to stanza.

This is sweetly amazing, I guess we can do a duet dsound poetry one day

I am interested in finding out who and what your influences are. This stuff is just impressive.

Concerning your question. Your explanations do not spoil it. I am always interested in what the poet's intentions are.

Usually, I read and interpret the poem and then check the extent to which we are on the same page. Often my interpretations are different, but then it forces me to reread the poem, and assess what you are trying to convey.

At the end of the day, a reader's interpretation is the reader's interpretation

Truly, one of the finer pieces on this platform. I really enjoyed your spoken word and I believe from unison was a perfect place to start.

Hi Daniel the wonderful Artist :)

That voice and pronunciation is just persuading me to listen it over and over. There is no melody yet the voice quality is fulfilling the melody appropriately, Bravo <3

Unison is the finest trait of unity and harmony. Minister kindly to bell-laughs and harsh sighs how beautifully you conveyed the message <3

Attend to the spirit of the crazed homunculi,
Tormented soulwanderers still sing their songs.
Minister kindly to bell-laughs and harsh sighs,
Scribble the life-rights and paint over wrongs.

You are such a great asset for the community & i am convinced that you're doing superb at your end My Great Friend <3

Lot's of love and prayers for your prosperous life @d-pend

Stay Blessed :) :)

But so loud, but so bright—that the ears of the universe
Split, into harmony, from one accord.

The closing lines are just breath taking, as always.

But doesn't it ruin the poem to explain it away?

I used to think this too, still do. Personally i feel us readers should be able make out a meaning or relation for ourselves the way we deem it.

Good work.

I don't really understand the poem, though i love the way it glows with the sound..

a poem can always make my soul feel calm, I always read and hear every poem you share. Because I really want to be a great poet like you. Therefore I always follow your post, so that I can learn I write a good poem. thank you @d-pend... :)

Oh my goodness this one is so wonderful! You inspire me to put my poetry out there! Keep writing beautiful things!! Thank you for the inspiration! ❤

Thanks so much for the kind words @brewingstories, and you definitely should share your lines :-) Have an awesome day and feel free to stop by any time :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66